Skip to Main Content
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Library Partner Updates: March 2023

MU Libraries News & Updates

March 2023

 

 Spotlight: Special Collections

Marshall University Special Collections houses unique materials about Marshall University, Huntington and the surrounding area, and Appalachia as a whole.

Located on the second floor of the James E. Morrow Library, visitors can delve into the history of the university and the region using unique primary source materials, publications specific to West Virginia, various audiovisual resources, and so much more. Special Collections also maintains a sizeable rare book collection and is the official repository for Marshall University archives.

Notable spaces and associated collections within Special Collections include:

  • General Chuck Yeager Room
  • Rosanna A. Blake Library of Confederate History
  • Dr. Charles “Carl” A. Hoffman Room.

Each of these spaces are open to the public and offer students and faculty a quiet place to study and perform research.

Hours:

Special Collections is regularly open Monday through Friday from 8am to 4:30pm.

Contact:

To donate a collection, schedule a tour or instruction session, or inquire about a research project, Special Collections may be contacted by:

 

 

 HerdCon: 2023

Attention Marshall students, staff, and faculty, their friends and family, and members of the community!

You are cordially invited to HerdCon 2023, the annual pop culture convention of Marshall University.  Hosted by Marshall University Libraries, and free to attend, the two-day event will be held on March 24th and 25th at the Memorial Student Center.  Expand your perceptions and join us! 

Friday, March 24th

Saturday, March 25th

  • Doors open at 10am (event ends at 8pm)
  • What to expect: Academic pop culture panels, video games, vendors, live bands, tabletop and strategy games, drones, and so much more. 

Want to get involved?

Visit HerdCon on Facebook for info and updates!

 

 Library MasterClass: Social Explorer

Join Marshall Libraries for a MasterClass: Using Social Explorer Thursday, March 30 | 12-1 p.m. Drinko Library, Room 349 Lunch will be provided. Event capped at 30 registrants. This one-hour workshop, geared towards faculty and grad students in the social sciences, will focus on using Social Explorer, a library database for analyzing and visualizing the characteristics of almost any location. • Get an overview of Social Explorer's research and teaching tools. • Create your own maps to see trends and make comparisons over time and place. • Create tables and export data off the platform to gain insights and help make decisions. Presented by Amelia Marcantonio-Fields, who provides demonstrations and product development for Social Explorer, specializing in Geographic Information Systems (GIS). Link to Teams invite for virtual atttendees below. Link to registration page for in-person attendees below.

Questions? Contact Kacy Lovelace, Student Success Librarian:  kacy.lovelace@marshall.edu

 

 Helpful Resources: News & Current Events guide

Do you want to encourage your students to be more up to date on current affairs? Do you want easy and free access to local and national news sources? 

  • Including a short how-to video on finding and accessing these sources, the guide features direct links to popular titles such as the Herald-Dispatch, The Atlantic Monthly, CBS News 60 Minutes, Chronicle of Higher Education, Newswires, Wall Street Journal Online, and more.

 

 For you and your students: New Relaxation Station in Drinko Library

MU Counseling Center uses grant funds to purchase two massage chairs, creates Relaxation Stations in Drinko Library and Memorial Student Center

  • Located in the back of the Drinko Study Center.
  • The Relaxation Station features a massage chair, books about yoga, freebies from the Counseling Center, and QR codes to YouTube videos on guided meditation to relieve anxiety, increase mindfulness, focus, and decompress.
  • View the library's guide on Mental Health Resources. 
  • View the library's Virtual Stress Relief Kit.
  • Each Relaxation Station is first-come, first served.
  • For more information, contact the Counseling Center: 304-696-3111

 

 For your students: One-on-One Research Appointments

https://marshall.libcal.com/appointments 

Faculty librarians can offer tailored support to your students on any step of the research process, such as:

  • Brainstorming
  • Choosing or narrowing a topic
  • Finding scholarly and/or peer-reviewed sources
  • Evaluating web sources
  • Formatting in-text citations and reference pages 

Students have several options for meeting with librarians, such as:

  • In-person
  • MS Teams
  • Phone call
  • Email
  • Drop in at the Drinko Library Research Desk