Library Partner Updates: October 2022

October 2022

 Library Spotlight: South Charleston

Read, study, collaborate, or just relax at the South Charleston Campus Library! Visit our space on the first floor of the Robert C. Byrd Academic and Technology Center for:

Our friendly staff is always happy to help with your research questions. Come visit us in South Charleston!

 New Database: MLA Handbook Plus

Check out one of our newest databases, the go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources. MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, as well as the first editions of both the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature.

Recent features added to the database include:

• 100 new examples of works-cited-list entries, easily searchable by publication format;
• sample student papers featuring formatting and documentation in MLA style, annotated to support instruction; 
• a brand-new, extensive section on grammar, including terminology and examples; and,
• expanded guidelines on citing databases, social media sources, quoting poetry, citing works with identical titles, understanding publication dates, and more.

 Plan Ahead: Spring '23 Library Instruction Services

•  Coordinate with library faculty for customized research tutorials or class guides for your online courses

Spring semester is just around the corner. Collaborate with subject-specific librarians on customized research tutorials, videos, how-to modules, and guides. If you have already collaborated with a librarian in the past on tutorials or guides, please review those to ensure the content is ready (and let us know if it's not!). Planning ahead means we can meet your students' needs when and where they need us, and we look forward to working with you. 

• Request spring instruction now to ensure we're available when you need us

Now is the time to request in-person or synchronous/asynchronous library instruction for Spring '23.  Library faculty are happy to visit your classes, collaborate on specific assignments, work with you to create research modules, and everything in between. Requesting early means securing us for your course schedule/syllabus to complement your research assignment deadlines.

 Open Call for Artwork: Prospectus for spring exhibit now available

MU Libraries' Spring 2023 art exhibit, Optimism In Appalachia: Reclaiming Hope through Artwork, Crafts, and Poetry, aims to highlight creative works that reveal, illuminate, and engage audiences with a sense of happiness and hope. In Optimism in Appalachia: Reclaiming Home through Artwork, Crafts, and Poetry, we encourage artists, writers, and crafters to display their work that highlights a sense of hope, joy, and anticipation for a better future. We encourage our students, faculty, staff, and community members to submit their works to the Drinko Library circulation desk on December 8th and 9th to be considered for this juried show. If you have questions, do not hesitate to get in touch with Sabrina Thomas at sabrina.thomas@marshall.edu if you have any questions. 

 Student Events: Please share this information with your students

Of course, faculty and staff are always welcome at all library events, as well!