Marshall University Special Collections houses unique materials about Marshall University, Huntington and the surrounding area, and Appalachia as a whole.
Located on the second floor of the James E. Morrow Library, visitors can delve into the history of the university and the region using unique primary source materials, publications specific to West Virginia, various audiovisual resources, and so much more. Special Collections also maintains a sizeable rare book collection and is the official repository for Marshall University archives.
Notable spaces and associated collections within Special Collections include:
Each of these spaces are open to the public and offer students and faculty a quiet place to study and perform research.
Special Collections is regularly open Monday through Friday from 8am to 4:30pm.
To donate a collection, schedule a tour or instruction session, or inquire about a research project, Special Collections may be contacted by:
Attention Marshall students, staff, and faculty, their friends and family, and members of the community!
You are cordially invited to HerdCon 2023, the annual pop culture convention of Marshall University. Hosted by Marshall University Libraries, and free to attend, the two-day event will be held on March 24th and 25th at the Memorial Student Center. Expand your perceptions and join us!
Friday, March 24th
Saturday, March 25th
Want to get involved?
Visit HerdCon on Facebook for info and updates!
Questions? Contact Kacy Lovelace, Student Success Librarian: email@example.com
Do you want to encourage your students to be more up to date on current affairs? Do you want easy and free access to local and national news sources?
MU Counseling Center uses grant funds to purchase two massage chairs, creates Relaxation Stations in Drinko Library and Memorial Student Center
Faculty librarians can offer tailored support to your students on any step of the research process, such as:
Students have several options for meeting with librarians, such as: