Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Dietetics Research Guide: Reference

Guide to Dietetics research.

Quick Links

E-Reference--Reference resources available on the internet. 

Gale Virtual Reference -- a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Credo Reference

Credo Logo

 

Credo Reference -- Includes over 500 highly regarded online reference sources that are cross searchable. Credo Reference covers every major subject and includes biographical information, images, maps and topic pages.

Biographical Resources

Credo Reference  - You can use Credo Reference to find biographical information.  Click on the link above or enter the person's name in the Credo search box above in this column.

Biography Index - Ref. Z5301 .B5  - This print resource lists books, chapters and periodical articles about people.  It includes a subject index that allows searching by specialty.

 

Dietetics - General Reference Resources

MU Libraries owns or has access to many resources that provide useful facts, background information and statistics for nursing and healthcare research.  Most of these resources are available online.  However, we do have a print reference collection available on 2nd floor of the Drinko Library. (Print reference items housed in any other location will be designated on this page and in the MU Online Catalog.)

E-Reference Books

Bender's Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology (2006) -- provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology, nutrient composition data for 340 foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.

Black's Medical Dictionary (2017) -- Online -- contains definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations.

The Cambridge World History of Food (2000) -- a scholarly work that "explains what we eat and why we eat it."  (also available in print)

A Dictionary of Biology (1996) -- entries relating to biology, human biology, biochemistry, medicine, molecular genetics, biotechnology, and food technology and production. 

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine (2015) -- Includes information on almost 2,000 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics.

Reference Books (Print)

The Reference Collection is located on the second floor of Drinko Library.  It contains many print resources that provide useful background information.  (Items not located at Drinko Library are so designated below.)

The Complete Guide to Nutrition in Primary Care RC216 .C666 2007  (Health Science Library/Reference) 

Dictionary of Food and Nutrition TX349 .B4115 2005

Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America (2 vols.)  TX349 .E45 2004

The Cambridge World History of Food (2 vols.) TX353 .C255 2000

Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition  QP141 .E526 1999 (3 vols.)

Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology  TX349 .B4 1990  (Health Science Library/Reference)

Dictionary of Food Ingredients  TX551 .I26 1989

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias (Internet)

Statistics Resources

Websites:

Bureau of Labor Statistics - (website) U.S. Department of Labor's Industries at a Glance covering the health care industry.

National Center for Health Statistics - (website) federal agency for collection and dissemination of America's vital and health statistics.

Databases:

Statista - statistical database that draws more that 1 million statistics from over 18,000 sources.

(The items below are technically not reference; however, they can assist you with using statistics in healthcare and research.)

E-Books:

Biostatistics: A Methodology for the Health Sciences (1993) -- this book does not have a recent edition. However, due to its quality coverage of the basics in instructing individuals in the health professions how to apply statistical methods to the biomedical sciences, it remains on the recommended list. (EBSCO ebook)

Quantitative Methods for Health Research (2008) -- a superb introduction to epidemiology, biostatistics, and research methodology for the whole health care community. (Wiley Online Library)