Search MU Libraries' collection, both print and electronic, with this web discovery tool. Enter terms below for a Summon Basic search or click the Summon Search link above to go directly to Advanced search.
Source material courtesy of the University of Texas Libraries.
Not sure if you have a "popular" or a "scholarly" source? Or maybe just need a refresher? MU Libraries Evaluating Sources can help. Here you will find the basic differences between popular and scholarly articles reviewed.
MU online databases can provide references to and full-text articles in the subject area of Dietetics & Nutrition in a wide range of periodicals from news magazines and newspapers to scholarly and professional journals. Below are some recommended databases for research in this subject area. However, you can see a broader list at: MU Databases - Nursing & Health
If you are primarily interested in searching databases recommended specifically for "evidence-based practice," click on the Evidence-Based Practice tab above.
Full Text vs. Citation Databases - What's the difference?
Full text databases, provide citation information, (author, article title, periodical name, volume & issue, date, etc.) for articles, essays, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials. In additiion, the complete source in HTML or PDF formats is also available in the database with an easy click of a button.
Citation (aka. index or bibliographic) databases provide citation information, but generally do not have the source available in full text.
However, don't be discouraged from using citation only databases. Most of the time, there is a link available to the full text outside of the database for an electronic or print copy that is accessible from or owned by MU Libraries. Or there is a link to request the item from another library for sources MU does not own. The link will take you to MU's Information Delivery Services (IDS) where you can log in and place the request.
Remember, if you have questions about choosing or using a database, please consult a librarian.
To see the full list of databases recommeded in the subject area of Health, click MU Databases - Nursing & Health.