Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Dietetics Research Guide: Books/E-Books

Guide to Dietetics research.

Books (print)

Books in this subject area can be located at Drinko Library, Morrow Stacks, or Marshall University's Health Science Library, which is located off-campus at Cabell County Hospital.  Use the online catalog MU Libraries Online Catalog to find books by subject headings or keywords at all locations of the Marshall University Libraries. The following Library of Congress Subject Headings can be used with the Basic Search by Subject Heading to locate books:

For additional, useful subject headings for your topic, consult the following listings, available in the Reference Collection or online:

You may also want to browse the collection in the following call number areas:

  • QP 140-150
  • RM 214-259
  • TP 360-500
  • TX 349-600

For books at other libraries, search other Library catalogs over the Web.

Books Marshall does not own may be ordered via our consortium E-Z Borrow or, if not available there, from other libraries using our Information Delivery Services (IDS).

Book Search in MU Catalog

To find books in print or electronic formats that Marshall owns or has access to, you can search the MU Catalog.  If you want to limit your search to e-book items only, use the advanced search option as seen below and click E-Books before you hit the search button. 

Nutrition ebook search

EBSCO ebooks

MU Libraries has several e-book collections that you might want to search in directly for books on different aspects of Food and Nutrition.  Click the icon below to search EBSCO eBooks.

Ebsco ebooks

HELP with Downloading EBSCO eBooks

Need help with creating an account and downloading EBSCO eBooks?  Click the following link:

Download EBSCO eBooks

You can also visit the  EBSCO eBooks Libguide, for an overview.

ProQuest Ebook Central

ProQuest Ebook Central, formerly known as Ebrary, contains more than 160,000 titles.  The following collections are included: Academic Complete, College Complete, Public Library Complete, and University Presses. 

Try searching or browsing for books in the areas of dietetics, food and nutrition by clicking the icon below.

E-books @ Marshall

For more information about ebooks available via MU Libraries and how to access them, click the link to our Ebooks LibGuide below.

Free Downloads Available at NAP

The National Academies Press (NAP) -- Full-text Food and Nutrition books online. (Click on individual titles to see the "read free online" or "download" links.)  Very strong on the sciences, with a searchable index. A useful source for authoritative information.

A Few Recommended Titles

A Dictionary of Biology (1996) -- entries relating to biology, human biology, biochemistry, medicine, molecular genetics, biotechnology, and food technology and production. 

Biostatistics: A Methodology for the Health Sciences (1993) -- this book does not have a recent edition. However, due to its quality coverage of the basics in instructing individuals in the health professions how to apply statistical methods to the biomedical sciences, it remains on the recommended list. (EBSCO ebook)