Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Government Documents: Maps / GIS

International, Federal, State, and Local, Government Documents at the Morrow Library of Marshall University

Maps & Spacial Information

USA.gov: Maps 
Links to a variety of U.S. government sites that provide maps.

National Map
The geographic information available from The National Map includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover. Other types of geographic information can be added within the viewer or brought in with The National Map data into a Geographic Information System to create specific types of maps or map views.

Maps, Imagery, and Publications (U.S. Geological Survey) 
Links to USGS sources of maps, aerial photographs, etc.

National Geologic Map Database 
A U.S. Geological Survey database of available maps. The maps were produced by a variety of organizations. Some are available full text online.

U.S. Census Maps 
Maps from the U.S. Census Bureau.

National Park Maps 
Maps of the National Parks, from the U.S. National Park Service.

Appalachian Regional Commission: Maps 
Maps of the Appalachian region.

Central Intelligence Agency Maps 
Maps of countries worldwide, from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.

Historical Maps

Library of Congress, Map collections, 1500-2009
The focus of Map collections is Americana and cartographic items of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.Partial contents:Cities and towns -- Immigration and settlement -- Conservation and environment -- Military battles and campaigns -- Discovery and exploration -- Transportation and communication.

Congressional Serial Set: Selected Maps
Selected maps of key points in American history.

World War II Newsmaps 
U.S. government newsmaps from World War II.

Historical Map & Chart Collection 
Historical land and coastal maps from the National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration's Office of Coast Survey.

Historical Topographic Maps 
Historical topographic maps of the United States from the U.S. Geological Survey.