Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Government Documents: Health

International, Federal, State, and Local, Government Documents at the Morrow Library of Marshall University

Health and Human Services Department

hhs

The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the United States government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services.

HHS Home Page 
Use the HHS home page to find topics on adoption, aging, child care, child support, civil rights, family assistance, food safety, grants, HIV/AIDS, Medicaid, mental health, smoking, substance abuse, teen pregnancy and more.

HHS Newsroom
The HHS Newsroom is a robust area of the department that provides access to press releases, fact sheets, video, testimony and contact information.

HHS' Regional Contacts for West Virginia

HHS Operating Divisions 
The HHS operating divisions are responsible for implementing the programs that are part of the mission of the department. These include the National Institutes of Health, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, etc.

National Institute of Health

This government-funded agency serves as the nation's medical research agency. The NIH, made up of 27 institutes and centers, provides the most medical-funding in the world and has a mission to improve health and save lives.

NIH Homepage

Health Information 
The NIH uses this page to organize many health publications, reports and clinical trials by topic.

Office of the Surgeon General

The Surgeon General is a nominated office and serves as America's Doctor and head of Public Health Service Commissioned Corps. Therefore, the office is the country's leading spokesperson on all matters of health and wellness.

Office of the Surgeon General
Find publications, reports, calls to action, workshop publications and collaborations all relating to a variety of health topics.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

The CDC uses its website to provide its most up-to-date information on disease-related statistics, conditions, emergencies, healthy living and traveler's health.

CDC Home Page

CDC-TV
This multimedia center from the CDC provides short videos on health topics for better living and information.

Basic Health Information

HealthFinder
Created by the Department of Health and Human Services, this portal provides basic health information, including tips for healthy living, health tools to do basic health checkups, news, and some quick guides to topical information.

Diseases & Conditions (Centers for Disease Control & Prevention) 
Links to information about common diseases and conditions.

Drug Information Portal 
A searchable database of information about prescription medicines. A service of the National Library of Medicine.

WomensHealth.gov 
Access to information about a wide variety of women's health issues.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

The FDA is charged with protecting consumers from possible health and safety risks involving both food and drug. This includes food, makeup, pet supplies and products that emit radiation. They also regulate the marketing and distribution of tobacco products. The FDA also strives to improve health by creating medicines that are more effective, affordable and safe.

FDA Home Page

FDA Basics
The FDA, in a move to be more transparent, has put together this site to explain the operations, projects and power the agency has.

Consumer Updates 
Find and identify recalled food and drug items, explore topics posed by the FDA and other news-related items.

Reports, Manuals and Forms 

PubMed

PubMed

This freely available database searches more than 20 million citations from biomedical literature, including MEDLINE, journals and online books. The database is a product of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. Some articles are available full text for free.