LibGuides: Diversity, Equity and Inclusion at Marshall: Queer History

Books

Below you'll find some of our most-read books on GLBTQIA+ history.

For more, search through our Summon database.

The Trials of Oscar Wilde: Deviance, Morality, and late-Victorian Society by Michael S. Foldy
Call Number: PR5823 .F65 1997, Drinko general collection
Gay New York: Gender, Urban Culture, and the Making of the Gay Male World, 1890-1940 by George Chauncey
Call Number: HQ76.2.U52 N53 1994, Drinko general collection
Sapphistries: A Global History of Love Between Women by Leila J. Rupp
Call Number: HQ75.5 .R87 2009, Drinko general collection
And the Band Played On by Randy Shilts
Call Number: RA644.A25 S48 2007, Drinko general collection
Reclaiming the Gay and Lesbian Past by Martin Duberman, et. al. Founding director of CUNY's Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies, Martin Duberman is a seminal figure in GLBTQIA+ history. Remarking on his book (which won two Lambda Rising Awards), scholar Catharine Stimpson called it "a landmark of ideas that will shatter ignorance and delusion."
Call Number: HQ76.25 .H527 1989, Drinko general collection

Before Stonewall by Greta Schiller and Robert Rosenberg, directors
Call Number: DVD 1793, Drinko Video area first floor
After Stonewall by John Scagliotti, director
Call Number: DVD 288, Drinko Video area first floor
Angels in America by Mike Nichols, director
Call Number: DVD 052, Drinko Video area first floor

We Were Here, directed by David Weissman
We Were Here is the first documentary to look at the arrival and impact of AIDS in San Francisco. It explores how the city's inhabitants were affected by, and responded to, the calamitous epidemic.
United in Anger
United in Anger documents the birth and life of the AIDS activist movement from the perspective of the people in the trenches fighting the epidemic.

Outhistory
Founded by Jonathan Ned Katz, Outhistory.org seeks to function as a place of active community participation in the process of discovering and writing LGBTQ histories.
Society of American Archivists: Lavender Legacies Guide
Founded in 1936, the Society of American Archivists promotes the value and diversity of archives and archivists and serves as the preeminent resource for the profession.
ONE, National Gay and Lesbian Archives
Founded in 1952 as ONE Inc., ONE Archives Foundation is the oldest active LGBTQ organization in the United States.