Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Education: Databases, Journals, and Articles

Education Databases

Education and Multi-Disciplinary Databases

 

Academic Search Premier

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

 

Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle is a major news service for United States academic affairs, and has been a finalist and winner of many journalism awards. Directions for downloading to a portable device: http://www.marshall.edu/library/pdf/CHE_Instructions.pdf

 

CQ Researcher 

CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

 

eLibrary

Provides a broad spectrum of educational Internet services to school library media specialists, teachers, students, parents, and school administrators in the K-12 educational and public library markets.

 

Emerald Management 120

Emerald's Management collection features over 80,000 articles from over 200 titles. The collection continues to disseminate the latest thinking, from authors at 95 of the Financial Times Top 100 business schools and forms an essential part of the research library at most of these institutions. Our specialist collections in fields such as Education, Engineering, Library Studies and Marketing build on this strength; offering focused international research in a range of subject fields.

 

ERIC (EBSCO)

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.

 

ERIC (ProQuest)

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.

 

ERIC (US Dept of Education)

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.

 

Learning Express

Learning Express Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help students succeed with academic or licensing tests. Tests have immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of results. Tests include GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, AP, TOEFL, PRAXIS, CBEST, as well as grammar, writing, and math skills improvement, and many others. Users must register from a free account. Provided by the WV Library Commission.

 

MAS Ultra - School Edition

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

 

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.

 

PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)

This database offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1. Coverage: 1894 - current.

 

Psychotherapy.net

The collection of 244 videos is searchable by keyword, expert, therapeutic issue, and client population. Web tools like clip making, interactive running transcripts, smart keyword search, and downloadable instructor's manuals empower users to easily explore, present, and share our videos with colleagues, students, or interns - responding adaptively to unique teaching and training needs

 

PsycINFO (ProQuest)

This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed. Coverage: 1806 - current

 

TeenBookCloud (gr 7-12 ebook database) Trial

TeenBookCloud is a curated database of e-books and other digital content for Middle Schools and High Schools, as well as Public Libraries. The growing collection features over 1000 titles, including student-favorite Graphic Novels, enhanced e-books with full audio narration and highlighted text, classic literature, national geographic videos, and more!

 

TumbleBookLibrary (K-6 children's ebook database) Trial

TumbleBookLibrary Premium has over 1100 titles for grades K-6, and includes unique animated, talking picture books, read-along chapter books, National Geographic videos, non-fiction books, playlists, as well as books in Spanish and French. Plus, the collection features Graphic Novels – a student favorite!

 

TumbleMath (K-6 math ebook database) Trial

TumbleMath has the most comprehensive collection of math stories available anywhere- all in the world famous TumbleBook format which combines animation, narration, and sound to create a compelling and enticing story book for students of all ages. The books are all accompanied by supplementary materials such as lesson plans, educational games, plus quizzes in order to test and track progress.

For in-depth information about using the following databases, please visit the available resource page for each.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Academic Search Premier - EBSCOhost


The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database. Full text for nearly 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Coverage: 1975 - current

Hint: Academic Search Premier is a good first step to begin searching for articles. Remember, articles that can't be printed as full-text or image may be available elsewhere in the libraries.

Peer-Reviewed Articles can be found by clicking on the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" checkbox on the left-hand side of the results screen or on the advanced search screen. Peer-reviewed means the article has been formally judged by experts in the field as worthy of publication.

 

 

ERIC - EBSCOhostU.S. Dept. of Education
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center database, contains indexing and abstracts from hundreds of education and education-related journals and from thousands of educational research and technical reports. Selected full text articles are available for thousands of ERIC digest records. Microfiche collection in Drinko Library. Coverage: 1966 to present

Peer-Reviewed Articles can be found by doing an Advanced search. Go to "Publication Type" and select "Reports - Research/Technical" (this is not available in CSA).

 

 

 

 

Indexes & Bibliographic Databases

These databases and print indexes will provide citation information (author, article title, periodical name, volume & issue, date) for articles, essays, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials, which may be found in the MU Libraries by searching the MILES online catalog (books), Journals Search (periodical holdings) or ordered from another library using EZBorrow or the Information Delivery Services (IDS) if the items are not owned by MU Libraries.

 

  • PsycINFO - EBSCOhost
    Contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. Coverage: Coverage from the 1800’s