Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Education: Biographical Sources

Biographical Sources

A good starting point for biographical information is the Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Ref. Z5305 .U5B56 1980), which indexes a vast assortment of sources including general titles such as Who's Who in America, Who Was Who in America, Who's Who, Who Was Who, and the New York Times Biographical Service. More specialized resources include:

  • 100 Most Popular Children's Authors: biographical sketches and bibliographies. E-Book

  • 100 Most Popular Picture Book Authors and Illustrators: biographic sketches and bibliographies. Drinko General Collection and MUGC Stacks PS490 .M395 2000

  • The 100 Most Popular Young Adult Authors: biographical sketches and bibliographies. Drinko General Collection PS490 .D74 1997 and E-Book

  • American Writers for Children before 1900. E-Book

  • American Writers for Children, 1900-1960. E-Book

  • American Writers for Children since 1960: fiction. E-Book

  • American Writers for Children, since 1960: poets, illustrators, and nonfiction authors. E-Book

  • Black Authors & Illustrators of children's books: a biographical dictionary. Ref. PN1009 .A1R63 1992

  • British Children's Writers, 1800-1880. E-Book

  • British Children's Writers, 1880-1914. E-Book

  • British Children's Writers, 1914-1960. E-Book

  • British Children's Writers since 1960: First Series. E-Book

  • Gale Literary Databases

  • Popular Nonfiction Authors for Children: a biographical and thematic guide. E-Book

  • Something About the Author. vols. 1-223. Ref. PN451 .S6

  • Twentieth-Century Children's Writers. 3rd edition Ref. PN1009 .A1T9 1989

  • Yesterday's Authors of Books for Children: facts...about authors and illustrators...from early times to 1960. Ref. PN451 .Y4 VOL 1 and 2