Education: Education in Credo - Institutions

Alternative type of American public school that, while paid for by taxes, is independent of the public-school system and relatively free from state and local regulations.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Public institution of higher education. Community colleges are characterized by a two-year curriculum that leads to either the associate degree or transfer to a four-year college.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Friedrich Froebel designed (1837) the kindergarten to provide an educational situation less formal than that of the elementary school but one in which children's creative play instincts would be organized constructively.

A collection of books or other written or printed materials, as well as the facility in which they are housed and the institution that is responsible for their maintenance.

From Chambers Dictionary of World History
Islamic schools which concentrate on theology and linguistics, as well as teaching Islamic science, history, poetry and literature. They originated in the Middle East in the medieval period and then spread throughout the Islamic world, including India.

Term commonly referring to institutions of pre-college formal education. It also properly includes colleges, universities, and many types of special training establishments.

Institution for instruction in religion and morals, usually conducted in churches as part of the church organization but sometimes maintained by other religious or philanthropic bodies.

Institution of higher learning for those who have completed primary and secondary education.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
At Cambridge, England, one of the oldest English-language universities in the world.

Mainly in New York City; founded 1754 as King's College by grant of King George II; first college in New York City, fifth oldest in the United States; one of the eight Ivy League institutions.

Mainly at Cambridge, Mass., including Harvard College, the oldest American college.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
At Oxford, England, one of the oldest English-language universities in the world.

Main campus at New Brunswick, N.J.; land-grant and state supported; coeducational except for Douglass College; chartered 1766 as Queen's College, opened 1771.

At New Haven, Conn.; coeducational. Chartered as a collegiate school for men in 1701...

The national repository in London for treasures in science and art. Located in the Bloomsbury section of the city, it has departments of antiquities, prints and drawings, coins and medals, and ethnography.

National library of the United States, Washington, D.C., est. 1800. Thomas Jefferson while Vice President was a prime mover in the creation of the library, and he supported it strongly during his presidency.

(MoMA), New York City, established and incorporated in 1929. Its present collection represents one of the finest groups of modern and contemporary art in the world, and its 1999 merger with P.S. 1, a contemporary art space in Long Island City, Queens, gave MoMA a greater connection to avant-garde art.

Free library supported by private endowments and gifts and by the city and state of New York. It is the one of largest libraries in the world.