Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purpose: To chronicle your thinking in the beginning of the research process; to detail what you already know/believe about the topic; and to outline your research plan. First person, chronologically organized, realistic account of your research process.
- Inquiry Question
- Primary Purpose:
1) Explore: What are the questions that most interest you and might help you discover the answers to your research question?
- What, if any, prior beliefs assumptions, preconceptions, ideas, or prejudices do you bring to this project? What personal experiences may have shaped the way you feel? Before you began developing working knowledge on the topic, what were you thinking about it? What are you thinking about it now?
- Typed, on paper, following MLA manuscript formatting guidelines
- No length restriction
- Cite at least 2 sources, and include a Works Cited page
Nexis Uni™ replaces the former LexisNexis Academic database which is being retired by Lexis-Nexis. Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative work space with shared folders and annotated documents.
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. This Government, Politics & Law HeinOnline’s database package includes, among other things, special collections on Criminal Justice, History, Foreign Relations, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law.
Ebook Central (ProQuest platform)
Ebook Central (ProQuest platform) goes to the main ProQuest platform where you can choose to simultaneously search multiple databases in addition to the ebook collections. If you prefer to only search the ebooks collections, try the Ebook Central™ (ProQuest) database below. Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.