Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Nursing: Reference

Guide to Nursing & Allied Health research.

Quick Links

E-Reference--Reference resources available on the internet. 

Gale Virtual Reference -- a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Credo Reference

Credo Logo

 

Credo Reference -- Includes over 500 highly regarded online reference sources that are cross searchable. Credo Reference covers every major subject and includes biographical information, images, maps and topic pages.

Opiod Crisis

Nursing & Health - General Reference Resources

MU Libraries owns or has access to many resources that provide useful facts, background information and statistics for nursing and healthcare research.  Most of these resources are available online.  However, we do have a print reference collection available on 2nd floor of the Drinko Library. (Print reference items housed in any other location will be designated on this page and in the MU Online Catalog.)

E-Reference Books

A Dictionary of Biology (1996) -- Online -- entries relating to biology, human biology, biochemistry, medicine, molecular genetics, biotechnology, and food technology and production.  (EBSCO)

Black's Medical Dictionary (2010) -- Online -- contains definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with diagrams, drawings and color illustrations.

Encyclopedia of microbiology (2011) --  Online -- Presents the myriad ways in which microorganisms influence the biosphere.

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health  (2018) -- This set provides more than 1,230 alphabetically arranged entries covering topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. It covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more. (Gale Virtual Reference Library)

The Illustrated Atlas of Human Anatomy : A Collection of 25 Anatomical Charts of the Human Body (2010) -- Online -- features authoritative definitions, appendixes, a color atlas of the human body, online resources, and illustrations.

The Encyclopedia of Elder Care (2008) -- Online -- State-of-the-art resource featuring nearly 300 articles on caring for the elderly.

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine (2015) -- Includes information on almost 2,000 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics.

Reference Books (Print)

The Reference Collection is located on the second floor of Drinko Library.  It contains many print resources that provide useful background information.  (Items not located at Drinko Library are so designated below.)

Mosby's medical, nursing, and allied health dictionary : illustrated - (R121 .M89 2002)   (1998 edition on reserve at Health Sciences Library)
Stedman's concise medical dictionary for the health professions - (R121 .S8 2001)
The encyclopedia of elder care - (RC954 .E53 2001) (2008 ed. now available at Health Science Library Reference)  (Also available online - See above.)

Physicians' desk reference to pharmaceutical specialties and biologicals -  (Health Science Library Reference) (RS75 .P5 2010)

Gray's anatomy : the anatomical basis of medicine and surgery - (QM23.2 .G73 1999)

Encyclopedia of human nutrition - (QP141 .E526 1999) (3 volumes)

Encyclopedia of microbiology - (QR9 .E53 1992) (4 volumes) (Also available at Health Sciences Library)

Biographical Resources

Credo Reference  - You can use Credo Reference to find biographical information.  Click on the link above or enter the person's name in the Credo search box in the left column of this page.

Biography Index - Ref. Z5301 .B5  - This print resource lists books, chapters and periodical articles about people.  It includes a subject index that allows searching by specialty.

 

Statistics Resources

Websites:

Bureau of Labor Statistics - (website) U.S. Department of Labor's Industries at a Glance covering the health care industry.

National Center for Health Statistics - (website) federal agency for collection and dissemination of America's vital and health statistics.

Databases:

Statista - statistical database that draws more that 1 million statistics from over 18,000 sources.

(The items below are technically not reference; however, they can assist you with using statistics in healthcare and research.)

E-Books :

Biostatistics: A Methodology for the Health Sciences (1993) -- this book does not have a recent edition. However, due to its quality coverage of the basics in instructing individuals in the health professions how to apply statistical methods to the biomedical sciences, it remains on the recommended list. (EBSCO ebook)

Quantitative Methods for Health Research (2008) -- a superb introduction to epidemiology, biostatistics, and research methodology for the whole health care community. (Wiley Online Library)

Books (print):

Biostatistics: A Methodology for the Health Sciences - QH323.5 .F57 1993 (Drinko Library) (See above for online.)

Biostatistics: A Foundation for Analysis in the Health Sciences - RA409 .D35 1999 (Health Science Library/Reference)

Demography of Health and Health Care - RA407 .P65 2001 (Drinko Library)