Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Nursing: Books/E-Books

Guide to Nursing & Allied Health research.

Books (print)

Some books in this subject area might be located in Marshall University's Health Science Library, which is off-campus at Cabell County Hospital.  Use  MU Libraries Online Catalog to find books at all locations of Marshall University Libraries. The following Library of Congress Subject Headings can be used with the Basic Search by Subject Heading to locate books:

Additional, useful subject headings for your topic, can be found by consulting the following: 

Browse the shelves in these call number areas to find books devoted to nursing or subjects related to nursing:

  • QM   Human Anatomy
  • QP    Physiology
  • R      Medicine (General)
  • RA    Public aspects of medicine
  • RC    Internal medicine
  • RJ    Pediatrics
  • RM   Pharmacology
  • RT    Nursing 

For books at other libraries, try the quick links at our Other Library Catalogs page. For books that Marshall does not own, try ordering through our consortium E-Z Borrow or from other libraries using the Information Delivery Services (IDS).

Book Search in MU Catalog

To find books in print or electronic formats that Marshall owns or has access to, you can search the MU Catalog.  If you want to limit your search to e-book items only, use the advanced search option as seen below and click E-Books before you hit the search button.

Nursing ebook serach

EBSCO ebooks

MU Libraries has several e-book collections that you might want to search in directly for books on different aspects of Nursing and Healthcare.  Click the icon below to search EBSCO eBooks.

Ebsco ebooks

Need help with creating an account and downloading EBSCO eBooks?  Click the following link:

Download EBSCO eBooks

For more information, visit the Ebsco Ebooks tab of our Ebooks @ Marshall LibGuide

Click  EBSCO eBooks App  for more information, an overview or to download.

ProQuest Ebook Central

ProQuest Ebook Central, formerly known as Ebrary, contains more than 160,000 titles.  The following collections are included: Academic Complete, College Complete, Public Library Complete, and University Presses. 

Try searching or browsing the items available in the Health and Medicine subject area by clicking the icon below.

Ebook Central 

E-books @ Marshall

For more information about ebooks available via MU Libraries and how to access them, click the link to our Ebooks LibGuide below.

Free Downloads Available at NAP

The National Academies Press (NAP) -- Full-text Health and Medicine books online. (Click on individual titles to see the "read free online" or "download" links.)  Very strong on the sciences, with a searchable index. A useful source for authoritative information.

A Few Recommended Titles

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health  (2018) -- This set provides more than 1,230 alphabetically arranged entries covering topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. It covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more. (Gale Virtual Reference Library)

A Dictionary of Biology (1996) -- entries relating to biology, human biology, biochemistry, medicine, molecular genetics, biotechnology, and food technology and production.  (EBSCO ebook)

Biostatistics: A Methodology for the Health Sciences (1993) -- this book does not have a recent edition. However, due to its quality coverage of the basics in instructing individuals in the health professions how to apply statistical methods to the biomedical sciences, it remains on the recommended list. (EBSCO ebook)

Biostatistics: The Bare Essentials (2014) -- This book translates biostatistics in the health sciences literature with clarity and irreverence. Students and practitioners alike, applaud Biostatistics as the practical guide that exposes them to every statistical test they may encounter, with careful conceptual explanations and a minimum of algebra. (EBSCO ebook)

Top 100 Health-care Careers (2010) -- extensive, authoratative resource that includes detailed descriptions of 100 healthcare careers, educational requirements, and a career outlook through 2018.  (EBSCO ebook)