LibGuides: Mental Health Resources: Substance Use Treatment and Recovery Resources

MU Medical Amnesty Policy

Marshall University Medical Amnesty Policy - Marshall’s Medical Amnesty policy encourages all students to seek medical treatment for themselves and others in serious or life-threatening situations resulting from substance use. This policy applies to the MU Student Code of Conduct for students who seek help. Learn more: https://www.marshall.edu/wellness/medical-amnesty/

Find a Provider - Help4WV

HELP4WV offers a 24/7 call, chat, and text line that provides immediate help for any West Virginian struggling with an addiction or mental health issue.

The helpline staff offers confidential support and resource referrals, including self-help groups, out- patient counseling, medication-assisted treatment, psychiatric care, emergency care, and residential treatment.

WV DHHR-ODCP & BBH

The West Virginia Bureau for Behavioral Health is the federally designated State Authority for mental health and substance abuse, as well as the lead agency for intellectual and developmental disabilities and provides planning, direction, training and funding for prevention, treatment and recovery services throughout the state.

Prestera

Prestera’s addictions treatment services is a full continuum of care that includes outpatient services, short and long term residential programs, medically monitored detoxification and transitional living programs which helps provide a safe transition for consumers reentering the community.

Phone: 304-525-7851

Treatment in Huntington, WV - ProAct

PROACT offers a variety of treatment avenues including both abstinence-based services as well as Medication Assisted Treatment. At PROACT, treatment begins on day one with a clinician who will conduct a comprehensive, structured clinical assessment to inform a diagnosis, a recommended plan of care, and to identify social or personal needs requiring further referral. Individuals entering our service are given timely access to a physician as well as to all other services offered by our program.

PROACT offers the following services to treat substance use disorder and help individuals achieve long-term recovery:

Clinical assessments

Medication-Assisted Treatment (MAT)

Peer recovery supports

Individual and group therapy

Career placement and career readiness training

Spiritual care

On-site pharmacy

Provider Response Organization for Addiction Care & Treatment

800 20th Street

Huntington, WV 25701

Phone: 304-696-8700

Jobs and Hope WV

Jobs & Hope West Virginia is the state’s comprehensive response to the substance use disorder crisis. Established by Governor Jim Justice and the West Virginia Legislature, this program offers support through a statewide collaboration of agencies that provide West Virginians in recovery the opportunity to obtain career training and to ultimately secure meaningful employment.

Substance Use Treatment and Recovery Resources

Hand of Hope

1212 Bath Avenue

Suite 101

Ashland, KY 41101

Main Tel: 606-393-5926

*accepts clients on opioid medication

HER Place

Barnett Community Center

1524 10^th Avenue

Huntington, WV 25701

304-525-7394

Huntington Comprehensive Treatment Center

135 4th Avenue

Huntington, WV 25701

Main Tel: 304-525-5691

Intake Tel 1: 304-525-5691-318

Intake Tel 2: 800-525-1449

*methadone maintenance, opioid medication

Karen's Place

2135 Highway 1185

Louisa, KY 41230

Main Tel: 606-638-0938

*accepts clients on opioid medications

Odyssey Inc

125 South Main Cross Street

Louisa, KY 41230

Main Tel: 606-638-0938

*accepts clients on opioid medications

Prestera Center for MH Services Inc

Addiction Services

3375 U.S. Route 60 East

Huntington, WV 25705

Main Tel: 304-525-7851-1009

Intake Tel 1: 877-399-7776

*treats with medication (Vivitrol, Buprenorphine)

Ultimate Treatment Center

3655 Winchester Avenue

Ashland, KY 41101

Main Tel: 606-393-4632

*methadone maintenance; uses buprenorphine for opioid addiction

Oxford House-Cabell (male)

2409 9^th Avenue

Huntington, WV 25703

681-204-3638

Oxford House-West Washington (female)

1457 11^th Avenue

Huntington, WV 25701

304-523-4684

Recovery Point of Huntington

2425 9th Avenue

Huntington, WV 25705

Main Tel: 304-523-4673

*does not use medication for opioid addiction; alcohol detoxification; cocaine detoxification; methamphetamines detoxification; opioids detoxification

Medication for Opioid Use Disorder/ Medication-Assisted Treatment

Medication-assisted treatment (MAT), including opioid treatment programs (OTPs), combines behavioral therapy and medications to treat substance use disorders.

Find treatment: Contact Help4WV to be connected with a local provider. If you are in the Huntington/Cabell area, PROACT is available to provide MAT services.

Learn more about MAT through SAMHSA’s information portal: https://www.samhsa.gov/medication-assisted-treatment

FDA:https://www.fda.gov/drugs/information-drug-class/information-about-medication-assisted-treatment-mat

Visit our stigma tab to learn more about how substance use disorder is stigmatized and what you can do to address stigma in your community.

Harm Reduction

Cabell Huntington Health Department Harm Reduction Program
Harm Reduction Programs have been operating in West Virginia since 2011, providing sterile syringes, collecting non-sterile (used) syringes, and acting as points of access to prevention, testing and treatment for blood-borne diseases as well as providing family planning and referrals to medical treatment and social services.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
This toolkit offers strategies to health care providers, communities, and local governments for developing practices and policies to help prevent opioid-related overdoses and deaths. Access reports for community members, prescribers, patients and families, and those recovering from opioid overdose.
Stop the Addiction Fatality Epidemic
SAFE Project is a national nonprofit working through a collaborative, multi-pronged and non-partisan approach to end the nation’s catastrophic addiction epidemic.
West Virginia Collegiate Initiative to Address High Risk Substance Use
Through the use of evidence-based strategies, the program promotes healthy campus environments through self-regulatory initiatives, information dissemination, public policy influence, cooperation with prevention partners and technical assistance.

Collegiate Recovery

Association of Recovery in Higher Education
The Association of Recovery in Higher Education (ARHE) is the only association exclusively representing collegiate recovery programs (CRPs) and communities (CRCs), the faculty and staff who support them, and the students who represent them. The Association of Recovery in Higher Education provides the education, resources and community connection needed to help change the trajectory of recovering student’s lives. We are a network of professionals, administrators, faculty, staff, students, parents and policy makers. The focus of Association of Recovery In Higher Education (ARHE) is to serve as a national support for propagating and supporting the vision of collegiate recovery programs. ARHE offer time-tested, research and experience based modeling for fostering and supporting those in recovery who seek to excel in higher education. ARHE is the central authority on the modeling and tailoring of CRP’s to best integrate them into the institution, and ultimately to best serve students in recovery.
Ohio State University Higher Education Center for Alcohol and Drug Misuse Prevention and Recovery
The Higher Education Center for Alcohol and Drug Misuse Prevention and Recovery provides colleges and universities the tools and resources to launch alcohol and drug misuse prevention and recovery programs on their campuses. The website offers resources for college students and their families, as college is an important time of transition for over 21 million young adults every year.
SMART Recovery at Marshall University
“Self-Management And Recovery Training (SMART) is a global community of mutual-support groups. At meetings, participants help one another resolve problems with any addiction (to drugs or alcohol or to activities such as gambling or over-eating). Participants find and develop the power within themselves to change and lead fulfilling and balanced lives guided by our science-based and sensible 4-Point Program®.” – SMART RecoveryⓇ
Southern West Virginia Collegiate Peer Recovery Network
Southern West Virginia Collegiate Peer Recovery Network is an innovative partnership, offering peer recovery support services on seven higher education campuses. This project is supported by federal State Opioid Response funding, which originates from the federal Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.
Transforming Youth Recovery
We invest in the future of our youth and families by bringing research, solution-based programs and resources to substance use disorders, transforming the pathway for lifetime recovery.
West Virginia Collegiate Initiative to Address High Risk Substance Use
Through collaboration with universities, colleges, community and technical colleges of West Virginia, local and state policy makers, decision makers and stakeholders, state agencies and community outreach campaigns, the West Virginia Collegiate Initiative to Address High Risk Substance Use is determined to continue making an impact on the lives of college students. WVCIA currently receives grant funding through the Governor’s Highway Safety Program, SAMHSA’s Strategic Prevention Framework – Partnerships For Success program, and SAMHSA’s State Opioid Response program.
West Virginia High Education Policy Commission
Comprised of a 10-member board, the Commission works with institutions on accomplishing their missions and carrying out state procedures. A source of support for institutions and students, the Commission’s work includes academic affairs, administrative services, finance and facilities, financial aid, health sciences, human resources, legal services, policy and planning, science and research, and student affairs.

Mental Health Resources: Substance Use Treatment and Recovery Resources

MU Medical Amnesty Policy

Find a Provider - Help4WV

HELP4WV offers a 24/7 call, chat, and text line that provides immediate help for any West Virginian struggling with an addiction or mental health issue.

The helpline staff offers confidential support and resource referrals, including self-help groups, out- patient counseling, medication-assisted treatment, psychiatric care, emergency care, and residential treatment.

Prestera’s addictions treatment services is a full continuum of care that includes outpatient services, short and long term residential programs, medically monitored detoxification and transitional living programs which helps provide a safe transition for consumers reentering the community.

Phone: 304-525-7851

Treatment in Huntington, WV - ProAct

PROACT offers the following services to treat substance use disorder and help individuals achieve long-term recovery:

Clinical assessments

Medication-Assisted Treatment (MAT)

Peer recovery supports

Individual and group therapy

Career placement and career readiness training

Spiritual care

On-site pharmacy

Provider Response Organization for Addiction Care & Treatment

800 20th Street

Huntington, WV 25701

Phone: 304-696-8700

Substance Use Treatment and Recovery Resources

1212 Bath Avenue

Suite 101

Ashland, KY 41101

Main Tel: 606-393-5926

*accepts clients on opioid medication

Barnett Community Center

1524 10th Avenue

Huntington, WV 25701

304-525-7394

135 4th Avenue

Huntington, WV 25701

Main Tel: 304-525-5691

Intake Tel 1: 304-525-5691-318

Intake Tel 2: 800-525-1449

*methadone maintenance, opioid medication​

2135 Highway 1185

Louisa, KY 41230

Main Tel: 606-638-0938

*accepts clients on opioid medications

125 South Main Cross Street

Louisa, KY 41230

Main Tel: 606-638-0938

*accepts clients on opioid medications

3375 U.S. Route 60 East

Huntington, WV 25705

Main Tel: 304-525-7851-1009

Intake Tel 1: 877-399-7776

*treats with medication (Vivitrol, Buprenorphine)​

3655 Winchester Avenue

Ashland, KY 41101

Main Tel: 606-393-4632

*methadone maintenance; uses buprenorphine for opioid addiction

2409 9th Avenue

Huntington, WV 25703

681-204-3638

1457 11th Avenue

Huntington, WV 25701

304-523-4684

2425 9th Avenue

Huntington, WV 25705

Main Tel: 304-523-4673

*does not use medication for opioid addiction; alcohol detoxification; cocaine detoxification; methamphetamines detoxification; opioids detoxification

Medication for Opioid Use Disorder/ Medication-Assisted Treatment

Medication-assisted treatment (MAT), including opioid treatment programs (OTPs), combines behavioral therapy and medications to treat substance use disorders.

Find treatment: Contact Help4WV to be connected with a local provider. If you are in the Huntington/Cabell area, PROACT is available to provide MAT services.

Learn more about MAT through SAMHSA’s information portal: https://www.samhsa.gov/medication-assisted-treatment

FDA:https://www.fda.gov/drugs/information-drug-class/information-about-medication-assisted-treatment-mat

Visit our stigma tab to learn more about how substance use disorder is stigmatized and what you can do to address stigma in your community.

Harm Reduction

Collegiate Recovery

1524 10^th Avenue

*methadone maintenance, opioid medication

*treats with medication (Vivitrol, Buprenorphine)

2409 9^th Avenue

1457 11^th Avenue