LibGuides: Communication Studies: Internet Resources

Associations and Organizations

American Communication Association
ACA is committed to enabling the effective use of new and evolving technologies to facilitate communication instruction, research and criticism, and to offering a technologically supportive venue for all who study the ways in which humans communicate.
American Forensic Association
The American Forensic Association is a professional association of teachers who seek to empower students through argument and advocacy.
The Association for Women in Communications
AWC is a professional organization that champions the advancement of women across all communications disciplines by recognizing excellence, promoting leadership and positioning its members at the forefront of the evolving communications era.
International Association for Media and Communication Research
AMCR aims to support and develop media and communication research throughout the world. It particularly encourages the participation of emerging scholars, women and those from economically disadvantaged regions.
International Communication Association
ICA is an academic association for scholars interested in the study, teaching, and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication.
International Speech Communication Association
The purpose of the association is to promote, in an international world-wide context, activities and exchanges in all fields related to speech communication science and technology.
International Telecommunications Society
The International Telecommunications Society (ITS) is an association of professionals in the information, communications, and technology sectors.

Recommended Websites

American Rhetoric
Includes hundreds of speeches from history, movies, politics and culture.
Intercultural Communication Institute
The Intercultural Communication Institute (ICI) is a nonprofit charity with the mission of fostering an awareness and appreciation of cultural difference in both the international and domestic arenas
Internet Archive
A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and digital artifacts.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Living Room Candidate
The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2012 is an online exhibition presenting more than 300 television commercials from every election year since 1952, when the first campaign TV ads aired.
StoryCorps
Extensive collection of oral histories and stories from people of all backgrounds and circumstances
TED: Ideas Change Everything
Inspiring collection of presentations by well-known and not-so-well-known people from all walks of life.
USA.gov
Portal for US government offers access to many artifacts and documents.
Veterans History Project
Nationwide initiative to collect, preserve, and provide oral histories from veterans.
World Internet Project
The World Internet Project originated at the UCLA Center for Communication Policy (now the USC Annenberg School Center for the Digital Future) and was founded with the NTU School of Communication Studies in Singapore and the Osservatorio Internet Italia at Bocconi University in Milan, Italy.

Related Resources

C-Span
The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses.
The American Presidency Project
Online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database:
• The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913)
• The Public Papers of the Presidents:Hoover to Obama (1929-2009)
• The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: Carter - G.W. Bush (1977-2009)
• The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: Obama (2009-2012)
History and Politics Out Loud
Searchable archive of audio and transcripts relevant to American history and politics.
Quest for Peace
Collection of half-hour interviews with a wide range of historical and political actors, including Julian Bond, Shirley Chisholm, John Kenneth Galbraith, Condoleeza Rice, and Edward Teller, on the pursuit of peace in the nuclear age. Digitized interviews continue to be added. Includes biographical information, written transcripts, and audio-video.

Blogs

No Caption Needed
No Caption Needed is a book and a blog, each dedicated to discussion of the role that photojournalism and other visual practices play in a vital democratic society.
Cybersoc

Communication Studies: Internet Resources

Use these popular or academic resources to supplement your scholarly content.

Associations and Organizations

Recommended Websites

Related Resources

Blogs