Qualitative Interviewing: Conversational Knowledge Through Research Interviews (2nd edn) by
Qualitative interviewing has become one of the most common research methods across the human and social sciences, if not the most prevalent approach. Qualitative Interviewing, Second Edition help readers conduct, write, represent, understand, and critique qualitative interview research in its many forms as currently practiced. It discusses excellent exemplars of qualitative interview research.The book begins with a theoretically informed introduction to qualitative interviewing by presenting a variegated landscape of how conversations have been used for knowledge producing purposes. Particular attention is given to the complementary positions of experience focused interviewing (phenomenological positions) and language focused interviewing (discourse oriented positions), which concentrate on interview talk as reports (of the experiences of interviewees) and accounts (occasioned by the situation of interviewing) respectively. The second edition has a new chapter on conducting interviews in practice and is updated with new sections on research ethics and the relevance of small-scale studies in a world of "big data", many updated references, recent examples of interview studies, and reflections on similarities and differences between research interviews, journalism, and the arts.
Qualitative Research in Business: A Practical Overview by
Qualitative methods are today taking their rightful place as valuable and powerful research tools both in business and elsewhere. Many professionals, however, continue to lack the skills needed to apply these methods in an effective and convincing manner. Qualitative Methods in Business Research: A Practical Guidebook offers an analysis and "how to" guide regarding qualitative research methods that provides practical and effective advice for those seeking knowledge regarding the application of these tools. Opening discussions compare formal/scientific/quantitative methods of investigation with qualitative alternatives. Having provided this overview, a range of qualitative methods are discussed in an easy-to-understand manner that will be invaluable for those who wish to use these tools as part of their decision-making processes. Assuming no prior background in qualitative research methods, the text is ideal both for the classroom and for use as a professional handbook. Powerpoint presentations reviewing each chapter will be provided to those instructors adopting the book as a text for classroom instruction.
Qualitative Research Methods : collecting evidence, crafting analysis, communicating impact by
Qualitative Research Methods is a comprehensive, all-inclusive resource for the theory and practice of qualitative/ethnographic research methodology. Serves as a "how-to" guide for qualitative/ethnographic research, detailing how to design a project, conduct interviews and focus groups, interpret and analyze data, and represent it in a compelling manner Demonstrates how qualitative data can be systematically utilized to address pressing personal, organizational, and social problems Written in an engaging style, with in-depth examples from the author's own practice Comprehensive companion website includes sample syllabi, lesson plans, a list of helpful website links, test bank and exam review materials, and exercises and worksheets, available upon publication at www.wiley.com/go/tracy
What Are Qualitative Research Ethics? by
This book is available as open access through the Bloomsbury Open Access programme and is available on www.bloomsburycollections.com.There has been an increasing interest in research ethics over the last decade given the increasing ethical regulation of social research. 'Ethical literacy' encourages researchers to understand and engage with the ethical issues that emerge in the process of research. This book provides a short, succinct and accessible overview of the field, highlighting the key issues and everyday ethical dilemmas that researchers are likely to face in different contexts. Covering a range of methods, the book provides clear guidance for researchers on how to identify an approach that fits with their moral and intellectual framework. It explores ethical issues relating to 'traditional' research methods as well as to new and emerging methods and approaches - particularly visual and online methods.
Qualitative Research: an introduction to methods and designs by
The authors--noted scholars and researchers--provide an up-to-date guide to qualitative study design, data collection, analysis, and reporting. Step by step, the authors explain a range of methodologies and methods for conducting qualitative research focusing on how they are applied when conducting an actual study. The book includes methods of data collection, specific approaches to qualitative research, and current issues in the field. Specifically, chapters cover the methods, designs, and analyses related to the methodologies of history, case study, program evaluation, ethnography, autoethnography, narrative, life histories, emancipatory discourses, feminist perspectives, African American inquiry, indigenous studies, and practitioner qualitative research.
Fundamentals of Qualitative Research by
Fundamentals of Qualitative Research approaches qualitative inquiry as a strategically selected composite of genres, elements, and styles. Saldana, author of the bestselling book, The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers, brings clear writing and explanatory prowess to this new textbook for learning the fundamentals of qualitative research methods.This book presents a concise yet rigorous description of how to design and conduct fieldwork projects and how to examine data in multiple ways for interpretive insight. Saldana, a master teacher and qualitative data analyst, acquaints readers with the major genres of qualitative research available and the elements of interviewing, participant observation, and other data collection methods to inform emergent research design decisions. An extended chapter on qualitative data analysis is one of the book's unique features. Saldana devotes necessary coverage to conceptual foundations, coding, analytic memo writing, thematic analysis, assertion development, grounded theory, narrative and poetic inquiry, and ethnodramatic approaches to the data. Eight distinctive styles of qualitative writing are presented. The book concludes with a list of recommended readings in the field, as well as additional resources on organizations and associations dedicated to qualitative research.Fundamentals of Qualitative Research is an ideal introduction for advanced undergraduate and graduate students in education, sociology, psychology, anthropology, human communication, and health care.
Rocking Qualitative Social Science: An Irreverent Guide to Rigorous Research by
Unlike other athletes, the rock climber tends to disregard established norms of style and technique, doing whatever she needs to do to get to the next foothold. This figure provides an apt analogy for the scholar at the center of this unique book. In Rocking Qualitative Social Science, Ashley Rubin provides an entertaining treatise, corrective vision, and rigorously informative guidebook for qualitative research methods that have long been dismissed in deference to traditional scientific methods. Recognizing the steep challenges facing many, especially junior, social science scholars who struggle to adapt their research models to narrowly defined notions of "right," Rubin argues that properly nourished qualitative research can generate important, creative, and even paradigm-shifting insights. This book is designed to help people conduct good qualitative research, talk about their research, and evaluate other scholars' work. Drawing on her own experiences in research and life, Rubin provides tools for qualitative scholars, synthesizes the best advice, and addresses the ubiquitous problem of anxiety in academia. Ultimately, this book argues that rigorous research can be anything but rigid.
New Directions in Theorizing Qualitative Research: Theory As Resistance by
What can it mean to resist in these troubled times, and how can we do so through theory? This volume presents novel ideas on how to accomplish this in the context of the field of qualitative research. The authors show us how we might go beyond pre-existing, systematized research methodologies to find our way. They challenge us to go beyond facile modes of thought and slow down any mechanistic practices of research, a slowing that can be surprisingly generative regarding pedagogy and knowledge production. The articles think through theories such as ones theorizing the postcolonial for the purpose of responding to global hegemony regarding institutional experiences of academe. They engage with practices of new materialism and show the multiform ways in which theory can be a companion to us in our journey of research. Further, the articles question hold-overs from humanist and modernist thought so that we might perform an inclusive pedagogy. Rather than falling into the cynical view that the world is too troubled to change, this volume presents a sound vision that we have no option but to engage in theoretical practice, for now, there's no time not to think.
Interdisciplinary Qualitative Research in Global Development: A Concise Guide by
There is no shortage of books on qualitative research methods, but none effectively equips researchers and practitioners for the interdisciplinary and increasingly complex, interconnected, and contested field of global development research. How can we choose the best method to answer our research question? How can we align disciplinary expectations of what good qualitative research is? How do we avoid pitfalls of extractive research practices amidst calls to decolonise global development? Interdisciplinary Qualitative Research in Global Developmentprovides this sorely needed practical introduction, and it does so in a concise format that can easily be taken into the field. Drawing on over a decade of experience in interdisciplinary education, research, and policy-relevant work, Marco J. Haenssgen fills these chapters with examples and exercises that feature real-life material from current interdisciplinary global development research projects. In the process, he addresses the common concerns of practitioners and students and primes readers for the discussions that are likely to arise when the social and natural sciences meet. For its practical approach, its wealth of real-world examples, and its unique focus on interdisciplinary work, this book is a must-have for anyone who is engaging in interdisciplinary qualitative research, and especially for those doing so for the first time.
Project Communications: a critical factor for project success by
This book presents a new way to look at communication within projects. It combines real-world examples and practical tips with theory, research, and professional standards you can apply to any size and type of project. Communication is vital for project success. Experts know it. Industry-wide research verifies it. Yet projects continue to fail because of poor communication. As a result, stakeholders and organizations don't realize the benefits of their projects and project teams. This book presents a new way to look at communication within projects. It combines real-world examples and practical tips with theory, research, and professional standards you can apply to any size and type of project. Gain actionable insights into identifying your audience, choosing the right tools, managing change, and handling conflict. Expand your professional toolkit with templates, activities, and resources. Develop your project communications expertise with reflective questions and recommendations. Whether you are a project manager, team member, project sponsor, or stakeholder, this book is for you. For educators, the book is ideal for students studying project management and related fields. Make your project communications a critical factor in your project success!
The Effective Change Manager's Handbook by
The Effective Change Manager's Handbook helps practitioners, employers and academics define and practise change management successfully and develop change management maturity within their organization. A single-volume learning resource covering the range of knowledge required, it includes chapters from established thought leaders on topics ranging from benefits management, stakeholder strategy, facilitation, change readiness, project management and education and learning support. The Effective Change Manager's Handbook covers the whole process from planning to implementation, offering practical tools, techniques and models to effectively support any change initiative. The editors of The Effective Change Manager's Handbook - Richard Smith, David King, Ranjit Sidhu and Dan Skelsey - are all experienced international consultants and trainers in change management. All four editors worked on behalf of the Change Management Institute to co-author the first global change management body of knowledge, The Effective Change Manager, and are members of the APMG International examination panel for change management.
Corporate Conversations: A Guide to Crafting Effective and Appropriate Internal Communications by
Everything a company says sends a message to its employees. Organizations that communicate well with their employees boast higher profitability, better customer acquisition and retention, and enhanced reputation. Without a strategically managed employee communications strategy, results suffer. Corporate Conversations is a comprehensive guide to crafting and delivering vital internalmessages. The book covers a broad range of issues, including: * the four types of corporate and business communications (human resources, business-related, legal, and informal) * how to communicate bad news * managing employee-to-employee communication * how to measure the impact of internal communications With valuable strategies for aligning all business correspondence with the company message, Corporate Conversationsshows professionals at all levels how to improve their communication skills and maximize the power of both traditional and hi-tech communication tools." "
Communicating Organizational Change: A Management Perspective by
Rapid and volatile organizational change is one of the most profound characteristics of our time. How to communicate the need for and the direction of change to stockholders, employees, customers, and management is the subject of this book.
Perfect Phrases for Communicating Change by
THE RIGHT PHRASE FOR EVERYSITUATION . . . EVERY TIME Employees respond to organizational change with worry, fear, and sometimeseven panic. Your job is to keep them motivated and focused--so you mustchoose your words carefully during times of upheaval. Perfect Phrases for Communicating Change has hundreds of ready-to-use phrasesfor ensuring your employees make the transition with clarity, commitment, andskill. Learn the most effective language for: Articulating new company initiatives Responding to questions with confidence Easing employees' fears Clarifying roles and responsibilities Addressing resistance and performance problems Praise for Perfect Phrases for Communicating Change "Perfect Phrases for Communicating Change is a wonderful book, filled with practical, solid advice, suggestions, and examples for how to communicate effectively in a time of change." John Krajicek, Executive Professor and Assistant Director of Business Communication Studies, Texas A&M University "Communication during organizational change is everything. The right words at the right time can make all the difference between a successful and unsuccessful change initiative. This is a wonderful resource for finding the right words and sentiments to convey any type of change." Robert J. Marshak, Ph.D., author of Covert Processes at Work: Managing the Five Hidden Dimensions of Organizational Change "Finding the right words to communicate change is challenging, even for the best of managers. In this user-friendly text, Lawrence and Antoine provide hundreds of practical phrases to better prepare managers for the task. The book is rich with insightful suggestions on change messaging considerations and construction." Edward Ferris, Assistant Professor, The New School for Management and Urban Policy "In my over 20 years of running companies and corporate divisions I have seen a direct correlation between the quality of communication of my managers and their success in the business world. If you aspire to be an effective, efficient, and productive leader then I highly recommend this book. It is an outstanding reference guide and road map for pragmatic yet inspirational communication techniques." Mitch Pisik, President and CEO, Breckwell Products
Responding to Crisis: A Rhetorical Approach to Crisis Communication by
In recent years, researchers and practitioners have explored the nature, theory, and best practices that are required for effective and ethical crisis preparation and response. The consequences of being unprepared to respond quickly, appropriately, and ethically to a crisis are dramatic and well documented. For this reason, crisis consulting and the development of crisis response plans and protocols have become more than a cottage industry. Taking a rhetorical view of crisis events and utterances, this book is devoted to adding new insights to the discussion, and to describing a rhetorical approach to crisis communication. To help set the tone for that description, the opening chapter reviews a rhetorical perspective on organizational crisis. As such it raises questions and provokes issues more than it addresses and answers them definitively. The other chapters can be viewed as a series of experts participating in a panel discussion. The challenge to each of the authors is to add depth and breadth of understanding to the analysis of the rhetorical implications of a crisis, as well as to the strategies that can be used ethically and responsibly. Central to this analysis is the theoretic perspective that crisis response requires rhetorically tailored statements that satisfactorily address the narratives surrounding the crisis which are used by interested parties to define and judge it. This volume will be of value to scholars and students interested in crisis communication, and is certain to influence future work and research on responding to crises.
Crisis Management: Resilience and Change by
Modern organizational crises are complex, diverse, and frequent. Ineffective crisis management can result in catastrophic loss. Crisis Management: Resilience and Change introduces students to best practices for preventing, containing, and learning from crises in our global, media-driven society. While covering the strengths of existing works on crisis management, such as systems, leadership, communication, and stakeholder perspective, this innovative new text goes beyond to include global, ethical, change, and emotional aspects of crisis communication. Using her proven transformative crisis management framework, Sarah Kovoor-Misra illustrates how organizations of all sizes can be adaptable, proactive, resilient, and ethical in the face of calamity.
Crisis Communications Management by
Can you control a crisis? No - but with adequate preparation you can control the reputational consequences. Reputational damage is rarely caused by the crisis itself but, instead, by what the organisation does and says under the media spotlight. This PRCA Practice Guide describes how to invest in readiness and what to do when a crisis strikes. Coverage includes contingency planning, stakeholder identification, crisis communications policy, spokesperson training, the 'Red Book', dark sites, rehearsals and simulations, locations and resources, taking the initiative, and managing the aftermath. The book also covers in detail the role of the mainstream and online media, recommending steps to neutralise hostility and shut down ill-informed comment. Including numerous real-life examples, discussion topics and advice from PR experts, journalists and editors, Crisis Communications Management is intended as an essential guide for public relations professionals, and the people who work with them during a crisis, on how to navigate the turmoil and emerge from a crisis with reputation and credibility intact.
Crisis Communications: the Definitive Guide to Managing the Message by
BRW.com.au reviewed on Mar 19 '13.Click here Qantas in-flight magazine featured in May 2013 issue. In the Black magazine reviewed in March 2013 issue. The 'Dean of Crisis Management' presents the definitive guide to creating and executing a crisis communications campaign to ensure that public perception matches reality One of the leading pioneers in the field of crisis management and communications and referred to as the Dean of Crisis Management, Fink played a lead role in helping avert disaster during the Three Mile Island Crisis'America's worst commercial nuclear power accident A landmark work in the field, Fink's book Crisis Management sold more than 100,000 copies in its first year Reveals best practices for using Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Google+, LinkedIn, and other social media to leapfrog over mainstream media by communicating directly with key constituents in an unfiltered and unopposed manner
The Landscape of Qualitative Research by 
Essentials of Qualitative Inquiry by 
