Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Communication Disorders Research Guide: Reference

Guide to Communication Disorders research.

Quick Links

E-Reference--Reference resources available on the internet. 

Gale Virtual Reference -- a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Credo Reference

Credo Logo

 

Credo Reference -- Includes over 500 highly regarded online reference sources that are cross searchable. Credo Reference covers every major subject and includes biographical information, images, maps and topic pages.

Biographical Resources

Credo Reference  - You can use Credo Reference to find biographical information.  Click on the link above or enter the person's name in the Credo search box above in this column.

Biography Index - Ref. Z5301 .B5  - This print resource lists books, chapters and periodical articles about people.  It includes a subject index that allows searching by specialty.

 

Communication Disorders - General Reference Resources

MU Libraries owns or has access to many resources that provide useful facts, background information and statistics for nursing and healthcare research.  Most of these resources are available online.  However, we do have a print reference collection available on 2nd floor of the Drinko Library. (Print reference items housed in any other location will be designated on this page and in the MU Online Catalog.)

E-Reference Books

A Dictionary of Biology (1996) -- entries relating to biology, human biology, biochemistry, medicine, molecular genetics, biotechnology, and food technology and production. 

Reference Books (Print)

The Reference Collection is located on the second floor of Drinko Library.  It contains many print resources that provide useful background information.  (Items not located at Drinko Library are so designated below.)

Desk Reference of Assessment Instruments in Speech and Language  - RC423 .H338 1996

Encyclopedia of Deafness and Hearing Disorders RF290 .T93 2000

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapys RC55 .M4  1999

MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders - RC423 .M56 2004

Reference Manual for Communicative Sciences and Disorders - RC423 .K46 1994 (Health Science Library)

Tabor's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary - R121 .T18 2001 (Health Science Library)

Terminology of Communication Disorders RC423 .N52 2004

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias (Internet)

Gale Virtual Reference -- GALE Virtual Reference Library provides you with a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.  Full-text.  Coverage varies.

MEDLINEplus Medical Encyclopedia - links to online medical dictionaries and lists of online medical dictionaries, produced by the National Library of Medicine.

MedTerms Medical Dictionary - online medical term dictionary produced by MedicineNet, Inc., an online, healthcare media publishing company. MedicineNet is 100% Doctor produced.