Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Communication Disorders Research Guide: Books/E-Books

Guide to Communication Disorders research.

Books

Print books in this subject area can be located at Drinko Library, Morrow Stacks or Marshall University's Health Science Library or Graduate College Library which are located off-campus at Cabell Huntington Hospital or South Charleston campus respectively.  You can use the MU Libraries Online Catalog to find both print and electronic books by subject headings or keywords that Marshall University Libraries owns in print or has access to online. The following Library of Congress Subject Headings can be used with the Basic Search by Subject Heading to locate books:

For additional, useful subject headings for your topic, consult the following listings, available in the Reference Collection or online:

You may also want to browse the collection in the following call number areas:

  • BF 712-724
  • RC 321-429

For books at other libraries, search other Library catalogs over the Web.

Books Marshall does not own may be ordered via our consortium E-Z Borrow or, if not available there, from other libraries using our Information Delivery Service (IDS).

Book Search in MU Catalog

To find e-books Marshall owns or has access to, you can search the MU Catalog in the same way you search for print items.  However, you can limit your search to e-book items only by using the advanced search option as seen below.

Advanced Search

A Few Recommended Titles

Computer synthesized speech technologies : tools for aiding impairment (2010) -- important issues for researchers and practitioners using computer synthesized speech as an assistive aid.

Developmental Theory and Language Disorders (2005) -- fourth volume in the series Trends in Language Acquisition Research.

Educating deaf students from research to practice (2002) -- '...accessible evaluation of the research literature on the needs and strengths of deaf children and on the methods that have been used-successfully and unsuccessfully-to teach both deaf and hearing children.'

Language and communication disorders in children (2009) --  comprehensive yet highly readable text containing theory and practical applications, Language and Communication Disorders in Children.

Social and communication development in autism spectrum disorders (2006) -- understanding and measuring social communication in children with autism spectrum disorders.

Stroke recovery and rehabilitation (2009) -- details the acute and long-term treatment of all stroke-related impairments and complications, including communication disorders.

Free Downloads Available at NAP

The National Academies Press (NAP) -- Full-text Behavioral, Medical, Life, and Health Sciences (and more) books online. (Click on individual titles to see the "read free online" or "download" links.)  Very strong on the sciences, with a searchable index. A useful source for authoritative information.

E-books @ Marshall

For more information about ebooks available via MU Libraries and how to access them, click the link to our Ebooks LibGuide below.

EBSCO ebooks

MU Libraries has several e-book collections that you might want to search in directly for books on different aspects of Communication Disorders.  Click the icon below to search EBSCO eBooks.

Ebsco ebooks

HELP with Downloading EBSCO eBooks

For help with creating an account and downloading EBSCO eBooks, click one of the following links:

Download to Computer

View Flash Tutorial

EBSCO eBooks App

ProQuest Ebook Central

ProQuest Ebook Central, formerly known as Ebrary, contains more than 160,000 titles.  The following collections are included: Academic Complete, College Complete, Public Library Complete, and University Presses. 

Communications Disorders can cover multiple subject areas including education, health, medicine, psychology and more. Try doing a simple search for your topic; or choose one of the various subject areas to browse/search by clicking the icon below.

 Ebook Central