Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Communication Disorders Research Guide: Evidence-Based Practice

Guide to Communication Disorders research.

Evidence-Based Practice in Communication Disorders

EBP logo

© ASHA

'The goal of EBP is the integration of clinical expertise/expert opinion, external scientific evidence, and client/patient/caregiver perspectives to provide high-quality services reflecting the interests, values, needs, and choices of the individuals we serve.'  (ASHA)

Or as D. Sackett states more simply, "Evidence-based medicine is the integration of best research evidence with clinical expertise and patient values."

For more information about EBP in Communication Disorders as well as an abundance of resources, go to: http://www.asha.org/members/ebp/ 

In addition to ASHA's resources, please see the list below for recommended databases for EBP research available via MU Libraries.


(Information and graphic courtesy of the American Speech Language Hearing Association (2012). Evidence Based Practice.)

(Sackett, D., et al. Evidence-Based Medicine: How to Practice and Teach EBM, 2nd edition. Churchill Livingstone, Edinburgh, 2000, p.1.)

Evidence-Based Databases

CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.

Full text of more than 1350 journals
Contains more than 4.1 million records dating back to 1937
CINAHL Headings index with scope notes, major headings search, and subcategories search
Evidence-based Care Sheets
Quick Lessons CE Modules
Graphs, charts, diagrams
Cited references
Evidence based, peer-reviewed, and other search limits are available in advanced searching

MEDLINE, created by the National Library of Medicine, provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Indexes citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals
Contains more than 24 references to records dating back to 1946
MeSH index with scope notes, major headings search, and subcategories search
Search limiters include Evidence-based Medicine Reviews, various types of Clinical Queries, and Publication Types in advanced searching.

*MEDLINE is also available via the ProQuest database platform.

**MEDLINE is also available via PubMed. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. Links to full-text items available from Marshall University Libraries are included when clicking on citations using this link.

Nursing & Allied Health Source™ provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

Abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles
More than 715 titles are full-text
More than 12,000 full text dissertations in nursing and related fields
Contains more than 4.1 million records dating back to 1937
MeSH and ProQuest Thesauri
Graphs, illustrations, photographs and tables
Evidence based healthcare, case study, peer-reviewed, and other search limits are available in advanced searching.

Database Research Tips

Remember these Research Tips highlighted above: 

When using EBSCO's CINAHL Complete database, you can limit your results before you search by going to the Advanced Search page and checking the box next to evidence-based practice in the Limiters section.  (You can also do this after the search by using Limit To tools in the Refine Results section in the left column of your results screen.)

When using ProQuest's Nursing & Allied Health database, you can limit your results in a similar manner by going to the Advanced Search page, scrolling down to the Document Type box in the Search Options section and selecting Evidence Based Healthcare.

When using MEDLINE (any platform), you have the option of limiting results to "publication," "document" or "article" type depending on the platform you are using.  In this way, you can choose to limit results to clinical trials, systematic reviews, case reports, comparative studies or meta-analysis, for example. PubMed Medline | EBSCO Host Medline | ProQuest Medline

Evidence-Based Internet Resources

Note:  Funding to support AHRQ's National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) ended on July 16, 2018. As a result, the database is currently offline. See the website for more information and status updates.