Skip to Main Content
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

CD - CoRP - Maxwell: Then Move to Research

Using Summon - The "Library Google"

From the MU Libraries homepage, you will see several search options on the library homepage. The first one is labeled Summon. Treat this like you would use Google: enter your search terms, and peruse the results until you find the most useful and relevant things to explore. Summon allows you to find results in print or online, and these results can be filtered to preferences such as scholarly, peer-reviewed, content type, publication date, discipline, and subject terms.

 

You can use the simple search box here, or, learn more about using Summon Advanced below. 

Search Summon for articles, books, & more

 


Search for the Right Type of Source

The Summon Advanced Search on the library homepage allows you to select from many different options to narrow / refine your search results. 

Summon Advanced by MU Libraries

A few more helpful tips...

  • Sometimes, we have search terms that are hard for a database to understand. For example: social media is a term, social is another term, and media is yet another term. But, they all mean very different things. So, when you need to keep a multiple-word search together, you may want to include quotation marks to keep the database from separating your words: "social media" versus social media. 
  • Some databases will provide links to similar sources. Look for something that says Find Similar Results, or You May Also Like to discover additional relevant sources. Often, these options are on the sides of the page, or near the top or bottom. 
  • When you find an article that is exactly what you were hoping to find, check out the References, Bibliography or Endnotes page (at the end), or Footnotes (at the bottom of each page). This information will tell you what that author used in their research, and may point you toward resources you otherwise might never have found.

Too few results

Not finding enough information?  

Think of related ideas, or read some background information first.  

You may not be finding enough information for several reasons, including:

  • Your topic is too specific. Sometimes, you simply need to generalize what you are looking for.
    • For example: if your topic is genetic diversity for a specific ethnic group in Ghana, Africa, broaden your topic by generalizing to all ethnic groups in Ghana or in West Africa.
  • Your topic is too new for anything substantive to have been written. 
    • For example, if you're researching a recently breaking news event, you are likely to only find information about it in the news media, since traditional scholarly publishing avenues take time. First check with your professor that newspapers are an acceptable source for your assignment, and then search databases that contain articles from newspapers. Visit our News & Current Events Guide to find these resources.
    • If you are not finding enough in the news media, consider changing your topic to one that has been covered more extensively.
  • You have not checked enough databases for information. 
    • Summon, the library's main search engine, does a great job of searching a lot of the library's holdings, but it doesn't always catch everything. Skip directly to a subject-specific database and try your search terms again.
  • You are using less common words or too much jargon to describe your topic.  
    • For example, the medical term for a concussion is minor traumatic brain injury, while chronic traumatic encephalopathy, otherwise known as CTE, is a result of concussion. You want to be precise when you search in order to find the most relevant sources.
    • Use a thesaurus to find related terms to represent your topic. When reading background information, note how your topic is expressed or written about. When you find citations in an article database, see how the topic is labeled or discussed by experts in the field.

Too Many Results

Finding too much information?  

Make your results list more manageable by narrowing your key concepts for less, but more relevant, information.  Here are some options to consider when narrowing the scope of your paper:

  • Theoretical approach: Limit your topic to a particular approach to the issue.  
    • For example, if your topic concerns cloning, examine the theories surrounding of the high rate of failures in animal cloning.
  • Aspect or sub-area: Consider only one piece of the subject.  
    • For example, if your topic is human cloning, investigate government regulation of cloning.
  • Time: Limit the time span you examine.  
    • For example, on a topic in genetics, contrast public attitudes in the 1950's versus the 1990's.
  • Population group: Limit by age, sex, race, occupation, species or ethnic group.  
    • For example, on a topic in genetics, examine specific traits as they affect women over 40 years of age.
  • Geographical location:  A geographic analysis can provide a useful means to examine an issue.  
    • For example, if your topic concerns cloning, investigate cloning practices in Europe or the Middle East.