Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Athletes: A Library Guide for You: MLA/APA Styles

Quick Guides to MLA Style

  • Quick Guide to MLA Style pdf
  • Modern Language Association -
  • Frequently Asked Questions about the MLA Handbook
  • Frequently Asked Questions about the MLA Style Manual 
  • Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) -
  • MLA Style
  • MLA Formatting and Style Guide
  • Knight Cite (enter citations and receive correct MLA style format) web
  • Online! Citation Styles web
  • Quick Guides to APA Style

  • Quick Guide to APA Style pdf
  • American Psychological Association –
  • APA Style
  • Basics of APA Style tutorial 
  • Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) about APA Style 
  • APA Style Blog 
  • Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)  –
  • APA Style 
  • APA Formatting and Style Guide
  • Knight Cite (enter citations and receive correct APA style format) web
  • Online! Citation Styles web
  • Who Uses this Style?

    MLA Handbook, 7th ed.Modern Language Association (MLA) style is used in the humanities. The seventh edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers was published in 2009 and is meant especially for high school and undergraduate students. In addition to instruction on how to prepare the list of works cited and examples of citation formats for a variety of sources, the handbook covers the research and writing process, plagiarism and academic integrity, the mechanics of writing, and stylistic advice.

    Paper copies of this book have the call number LB2369 .G53 2009 and are at the Drinko Library Circulation Desk on two-hour reserve. 

    MLA Style Manual, 3rd editionThe third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing was published in 2008 and is used by graduate students, scholars and professional writers.  Besides documentation style, this books gives guidance on writing, preparing, and publishing scholarly work; copyright and fair use; and legal issues such as contracts. This is the book you will use when writing your thesis or dissertation.

    Paper copies of this book have the call number PN147 .G444 2008 and are at the Drinko Library Circulation Desk on two-hour reserve.

    Who Uses this Style?

    Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed.American Psychological Association (APA) style is used in psychology, education, and other  behavioral and social sciences. The sixth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association was published in 2010 and, in addition to examples of citation formats for a variety of sources, covers guidance on writing style, manuscript structure and content, displaying results of experiments, and the publication process.

    Paper copies of this book have the call number BF76.7 .P83 2010  are at the Drinko Circulation Desk on two-hour reserve and in the South Charleston Library Reference collection.

    Quick Guides to Citation Styles

  • Quick Guide to APA Style pdf
  • Quick Guide to MLA Style pdf
  • Quick Guide to Turabian pdf
  • Knight Cite (enter citations and receive correct MLA, APA, or Chicago style format) web
  • Online! Citation Styles: Includes examples for citing electronic sources such as Web sites, email, etc. for MLA, APA, Chicago, and CBE web