Women's Studies: Internet Resources

­­­IF I APPLY

Use the first steps of ‘IF I’ in order to identify your personal biases that will cloud your judgment on the topic.  Once you have sources of information collected you must justify why each source has credibility by using the ‘APPLY’ steps.

Personal steps

• Identify emotions attached to topic.
• Find unbiased reference sources for proper review of topic.

• Intellectual courage to seek authoritative voices on topic that may be outside of thesis. _______________________________________________

Source steps

• Authority established. Does the author have education and experience in that field?
• Purpose/Point of view of source. Does the author have an agenda beyond education or information?
• Publisher? Does the publisher have an agenda?
• List of sources (bibliography). Is the evidence sound?
• Year of publication.  Does the year of publication effect the information?

• Discovering American Women's History Online
  This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
• National Archives: Women
  A list of historical websites relevant to women in the United States. Topics include African-American women, women in politics, women's suffrage, and women in the military.
• Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World
  An interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean. Includes lists of citations and resources, many with links.
• Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
  Searchable collection of citations to journal articles, book reviews, essays, and books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

• African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
  A digital collection from the New York Public Library.
• Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World
  Searchable database of women's speeches, from Sweet Briar College.
• HEARTH: Home Economics Archive
  A full-text searchable collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines published from 1850 to 1950.
• Victorian Women Writers Projects
  Transcribed works by 19th century British women.
• Women Working,1870-1930
  Provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections.