Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citing sources is a required part of any research project. If you fail to cite or cite properly, consequences can be severe. MU Libraries have prepared some quick guides to the most common citation styles and have identified resources that assist in preparing citations.
Starting Your Research
Consulting reference sources is a great way to start your research. Remember that most professors will not accept work that uses information from Wikipedia. Many of the library reference sources are available online. Here are some examples.
Women's Global and Human Rights
Women's Global Health and Human Rights serves as an overview of the challenges faced by women in different regions of the world. Ideal as a tool for both professionals and students, this book discusses the similarities and differences in health and human rights challenges that are faced by women globally.
Where women stand : an international report on the status of women in 140 countries
Find out information on a multitude of important issues, and discover facts pertinent to anyone concerned about women's issues and women's status in the growing global community. Based largely on United Nations documents and unpublished reports commissioned by the U.N., Where Women Stand provides the latest facts on women in the world around us. Two complimentary sections illuminate pressing issues and essential statistics about women's status around the world.
Encyclopedia of women and gender : sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender
The study of gender differences began in earnest in the 1970s and has since increased dramatically to infiltrate virtually all fields of study in the social and behavioral sciences. Along the way, it was discovered that while women very often think and behave differently than do men, industrialized societies cater to masculine perspectives. The "Psychology of Women" emerged as a field of study focusing on just those areas in which women most often butted against assumed roles. And similarly, in the 1990s, the "Psychology of Men" emerged to focus on the same issues for men. The Encyclopedia of Gender covers all three areas under one cover, discussing psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior.
Reader's guide to women's studies
The Reader's Guide to Women's Studies is a searching and analytical description of the most prominent and influential works written in the now universal field of women's studies. Some 200 scholars have contributed to the project which adopts a multi-layered approach allowing for comprehensive treatment of its subject matter. Entries range from very broad themes such as "Health: General Works" to entries on specific individuals or more focused topics such as "Doctors."
Women's studies encyclopedia
Tierney's highly acclaimed Women's Studies Encyclopedia has become the standard in the field, but research on women has proceeded rapidly since its publication. Feminist thought has grown and branched out, and women's conditions have changed markedly in some areas. This revised and expanded edition will meet the continuing need for a multidisciplinary reference tool on all facets of the female condition. With close to 400 contributors, it expands coverage of such areas as violence against women, women in public life, and women in specific countries and regions. Many of the articles are new or completely rewritten, while others have been updated or expanded. The encyclopedia contains information about women from all fields and disciplines of study, written in non-specialist language accessible to all readers. It will continue to be a useful resource for students and scholars doing research outside their fields, and the interested layperson.
Feminist research methods : an annotated bibliography
This is a compilation of English-language works that help to answer the question, What makes a research project feminist? Each of the titles brought together in this volume addresses some aspect of feminist research. The bibliography includes general works, specific-discipline works and articles.
The quotable woman
This edition is an update of a classic reference work. While the print version will prove useful to library users browsing for quotations, the changes in the reference milieu since the 1992 and 2001 editions make this edition less likely to be used for locating specific quotations. Entries are arranged chronologically then alphabetically by the names of the women quoted. Indexing is by name, career and occupation, ethnicity and nationality, and subject.