Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quick Links - Women's Studies Journals
Below are links to selected key Women's Studies journals. If you need online access to other years, issues, or titles, email Sabrina Thomas, or search by journal title here.
Library of Congress Women's Studies Digital Collections
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress holds digital collections that may be useful to you. This link provides a list of all Women's Studies collections housed in the Library of Congress.
Journal Articles and Databases
Trying to determine which database is best for your area of gender-related research can sometimes prove to be the most difficult part of the research process. Here is a selection of databases which have been found to have excellent interdisciplinary coverage of topics related to research about women and gender.
America: History & Life with Full Text
America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
This database is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
Search BrowZine for journals
Citing sources is a required part of any research project. If you fail to cite or cite properly, consequences can be severe. MU Libraries have prepared some quick guides to the most common citation styles and have identified resources that assist in preparing citations.