Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Modern Languages: World Literature Resources

This online guide is developed specifically for those doing research in Modern Languages. It provides a recommended list of resources, which encompasses print materials, electronic databases, and selected Internet resources.

  Foreign Language News Sources

World Literature Resources

The resources listed below will lead you to background information and criticism about World authors and their works. 

General Sources

  • Dictionary of Literary Biography [DLB]  Provides in-depth biographical/critical sketches of writers from numerous cultures and time periods, richly illustrated, with primary and secondary bibliographies.

    Hint: Use the cumulative index in the most recent volume of the series or search the Gale Literary Index (http://www.galenet.com/servlet/LitIndex) to find references to biographical information and critical overviews about authors and their works in these general sources.

  • Contemporary Authors Ref. Z1224 .C63  Contains brief biographical data supplied by the author with bibliographies and occasional personal statements.
  • Contemporary Authors, New Revision Series  A biographical and bibliographical guide to current writers in all fields including poetry, fiction and nonfiction, journalism, drama, television and movies. Includes the most recent data on the world's most-popular authors. Profile sketches are entirely revised and completely replace the original Contemporary Authors entries. Each volume contains approximately 250 writers.
  • Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism [NCLC]  Since its inception in 1981, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (NCLC) has been a valuable resource for students and librarians seeking critical commentary on writers of this transitional period in world history. Designated an “Outstanding Reference Source” by the American Library Association with the publication of is first volume, NCLC has since been purchased by over 6,000 school, public, and university libraries. The series has covered more than 500 authors representing 38 nationalities and over 28,000 titles. No other reference source has surveyed the critical reaction to nineteenth-century authors and literature as thoroughly as NCLC.

  • Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism [TCLC]  Includes writers who died between 1900-1999. Significant works often are given their own entries in addition to the one devoted the author's body of work. Like NCLC and CLC, TCLC has a series of topics volumes, whose subjects include: Alcohol and Literature, American Autobiography, American Black Humor Fiction, American Writers in Paris, The Apocalyptic Movement, Literature of the Beat Generation, The Blues in Literature, Comic Books, Crime in Literature, Cyberpunk, Twentieth-Century Detective Fiction, Espionage Literature, Existentialism and Literature, Film and Literature, Folklore and Literature, Harlem Renaissance, Literature of the Holocaust, Magic Realism and more. See the Cumulative Index for a complete list of topics.

  • Contemporary Literary Criticism [CLC]
    Treats writers now living or who died after December 31, 1999. Because authors covered in CLC continue to publish works, many authors have entries in multiple CLC volumes. CLC topics volumes: AIDS in Literature, Electronic Books: Hypertext and Hyperfiction, Feminism in the 1990s: Commentary on Works by Naomi Wolf, Susan Faludi, and Camille Paglia, Feminist Criticism in 1990, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., and African American Literary Criticism, Gay and Lesbian Literature, Literature and Millenial Lists, Native American Literature, Sylvia Plath and the Nature of Biography, Revising the Literary Canon, Vietnam War in Literature and Film and more. See the Cumulative Index for a complete list of topics.

French Literature

  • Dictionary of Modern French Literature Ref PQ 41 .D65

  • The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French Ref PQ 41 .N49

Spanish & Latin American Literature

  • Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature Ref PQ 7081 .A1 E56 and online

  • Masterpieces of Latino Literature Ref PQ 7081 .A1 M29

  • The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature Ref PQ 7081 .A1 C35

  • Women Writers of Spanish America Ref PQ 7081 .W65

German Literature

  • Oxford Companion to German Literature Ref PT 41 .G3

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Larry Sheret
Contact:
Drinko 213 C (Next to the Writing Center)

Phone (304) 696-6577

Online Chat