Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Nursing: Coronavirus - COVID-19

Guide to Nursing & Allied Health research.

Coronavirus - COVID-19

COVID-19_CDC_image

COVID-19 is a new form of Coronavirus that causes acute infection with respiratory symptoms. This new virus is a different kind of Coronavirus than the ones that cause SARS (Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome) or MERS (Middle East Respiratory Syndrome). It is also different from the Coronavirus that causes seasonal infection in the U.S.

The first cases of COVID-19 were seen in Wuhan, Hubei Province, China. As of March 2020, the virus has spread within China and to many other countries worldwide, including the U.S.  (ATS Patient Education Series © 2020 American Thoracic Society) 

For more information, click here to view or download the following PDF <https://www.thoracic.org/patients/patient-resources/resources/coronavirus-patient.pdf> 

Health Affairs Coronavirus Topic Page

Topic areas feature the full range of Health Affairs' content - including journal, blog, briefs, and more.

Health Affairs COVID-19 (Coronavirus Disease) Collection

A collection of COVID-19 (Coronavirus Disease) content from Health Affairs journal articles and additional resources providing timely commentary, expert analysis, and policy proposals.

Credo Reference resources on Coronavirus and COVID-19:

Coronavirus Free Access Collection (Cambridge University Press)

Cambridge UP is providing free access to coronavirus research on Cambridge Core. More than 80 relevant book chapters and journal articles are currently in the collection, with future articles being added once they are published. These  resources will be available to the end of May 2020.

Dynamed Information on COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus)DynaMed (Ebsco) delivers the most current and accurate, evidence-based content for practicing clinicians.

Novel Coronavirus (COVID19) Coronavirus Information Center 

Elsevier’s free health and medical research on novel coronavirus (COVID-19).  Includes:

  • the the latest early-stage and peer-reviewed research on COVID-19 from journals including The Lancet and Cell Press and nearly 20,000 related articles free from ScienceDirect.
  • evidence-based skill guides and care plans for treatment, safety and patient education, along with emergency prepared webinars by the CDC.
  • Clinical Skills for Nursing
  • Interprofessional Care Plans
  • COVID-19 Clinical Toolkit
  • And more

COVID-19 News Tracker (LexisNexis)

To help make sense of what’s happening in the media, LexisNexis is using their news tracker to monitor the velocity of the news and to provide  additional perspective and useful insight. Interactive charts provide insight into the way coronavirus is developing across the global media landscape in near real time. Many of the charts on the site are embeddable and can be used on internal or external sites.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) disease pandemic- Statistics & Facts from Statista

"The world is currently experiencing a pandemic of an infectious disease called coronavirus, or COVID-19. COVID-19 is caused by the severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-COV-2) and is part of a large family of coronaviruses (CoV). Coronaviruses are transmitted from animals to people, with this particular strain of coronavirus thought to have originated from a seafood market in the city of Wuhan in China in late December of 2019. Symptoms of COVID-19 resemble that of the common cold, with those infected often experiencing fever, coughing, and shortness of breath. However, infection can lead to pneumonia, multi-organ failure, severe acute respiratory syndrome, and even death, in more severe cases. The elderly and those with preexisting chronic health conditions have accounted for the majority of deaths from COVID-19. "

Read More at Statista 

 

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Global Cases Map by Johns Hopkins <--Click here

Use this interactive web-based map to track the number and location of cases of the virus around the world. In an effort to provide the most up-to-date information the COVID-19 Global Case Tracker is updated frequently. 

COVID-19 INFORMATION PORTAL (Powered by EBSCO)  A team of healthcare professionals and evidence-based medical experts at EBSCO Information Services (EBSCO) has launched a COVID-19 portal which aggregates real-time information updates from authoritative sources to provide information on all aspects of the COVID-19 pandemic. The portal was created to meet the needs of the healthcare information community in a time when information is released at a rapid rate, from all areas of the knowledge ecosystem. The COVID-19 portal provides researchers and healthcare professionals with consolidated access to real-time, credible information. 

COVID-19 Info Portal

 

Free Medical, Social, and Behavioral Science Articles from SAGE Publishing
SAGE Publishing has created a microsite with free-to-read medical research from SAGE related to the virus as well as social and behavioral research to help decision-makers deal with the outbreak and its impact. This collection includes the latest medical research from SAGE related to the virus as well as top social and behavioral research to help individuals, communities, and leaders make the best decisions on dealing with the outbreak and its consequences. A full list of these and other related freely available articles is also available.

Sage Microsite on Cornoavirus

 

Free research on COVID-19 and the management of epidemics and pandemics from Emerald Publishing

Emerald Publishing has made research on COVID-19 and the management of epidemics and pandemics free for anyone to access and has also made this available with full text and data mining rights to PubMed Central and the World Health Organization repository. 

Emerald Publishing

 

COVID-19: Novel Coronavirus Microsite (Taylor & Francis) 

This microsite provides links and references to all relevant COVID-19 research articles, book chapters and information that can be freely accessed on Taylor & Francis Online and Taylor & Francis ebooks in support of the global efforts in diagnosis, treatment, prevention and further research into COVID-19.

Taylor & Francis Group

 

Coronavirus Research Archive (Taylor & Francis)

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, Taylor & Francis is making relevant research articles free to access in order to support the global effort to diagnose, treat, prevent COVID-19.  Ccontent will be updated regularly as more content is published.

Taylor & Francis Online

 

Coronavirus: Research, Commentary, and News - The Science journals are striving to provide the best and most timely research, analysis, and news coverage of COVID-19 and the coronavirus that causes it. All content is free to access by clicking the icon below.

Science AAAS

 

Coronavirus Free Access Collection (Cambridge Core)

Free access to coronavirus research on Cambridge Core. More than 80 relevant book chapters and journal articles are currently in the collection, with future articles being added once they are published.

Cambridge Univ Press

Novel Coronavirus Information Center & Clinical Information

Elsevier has created the Novel Coronavirus Information Center, a free access database of materials that will be continually updated and made available till October 31, 2020.

Included are the latest early-stage and peer-reviewed research on COVID-19 from journals including The Lancet and Cell Press; more than 25,000 related articles free to access on ScienceDirect; and free access to Elsevier's clinical, biomedical and life sciences research resources and solutions to researchers focused on coronavirus drugs and vaccines or clinical research.​

​For clinicians, there are evidence-based skill guides and care plans for treatment, safety and patient education, along with emergency prepared webinars by the CDC.​  There is also a new podcast series, "Expert Insights on COVID-19" for clinicians and frontline providers. 

Click on the icon below to go directly to the Clinical Section of the Information Center.

Elsevier Coronavirus Clinical Information