Music Research Guide

The Music Business and Recording Industry is a comprehensive music business textbook focused on the three income streams in the music industry: music publishing, live entertainment, and recordings. The book provides a sound foundation for understanding key issues, while presenting the latest research in the field. It covers the changes in the industry brought about by the digital age, such as changing methods of distributing and accessing music and new approaches in marketing with the Internet and mobile applications. New developments in copyright law are also examined, along with the global and regional differences in the music business. nbsp;

The Music Industry Handbook, Second edition is an expert resource and guide for all those seeking an authoritative and user-friendly overview of the music industry today. The new edition includes coverage of the latest developments in music streaming, including new business models created by the streaming service sector. There is also expanded exploration of the music industry in different regions of the UK and in other areas of Europe, and coverage of new debates within the music industry, including the impact of copyright extensions on the UK music industry and the business protocols involved when music is used in film and advertising. The Music Industry Handbook, Second edition also includes: in-depth explorations of different elements of the music industry, including the live music sector, the recording industry and the classic music business analysis of business practices across all areas of the industry, including publishing, synchronisation and trading in the music industry profiles presenting interviews with key figures working in the music industry detailed further reading for each chapter and a glossary of essential music industry terms.