LibGuides: Music Research Guide: Music Education

Databases

ERIC (US Dept of Education) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
Dissertations & Theses at Marshall This link opens in a new window
This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at Marshall University

Reference Books for Music Education

Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning by Richard Colwell (Editor)
Call Number: MT1 .H138 1992
ISBN: 0028705017
Publication Date: 1992-03-01
Distance protection provides the basis for network protection in transmission systems and meshed distribution systems. Initially this book covers the fundamentals of distance protection and the special features of numerical distance relays in distribution and transmission systems. This book is aimed at students and engineers who wish to familiarise themselves with the subject of power system protection, as well as the experienced user, entering the area of numerical distance protection. Furthermore it serves as a reference guide for solving application problems. For the third edition all contents, especially the product descriptions and the very useful appendix, have been revised and updated.
The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning by Richard Colwell (Editor); Carol Richardson (Editor)
Call Number: MT1 .N48 2002
ISBN: 0195138848
Publication Date: 2002-04-18
Featuring chapters by the world's foremost scholars in music education and cognition, this handbook is a convenient collection of current research on music teaching and learning. This comprehensive work includes sections on arts advocacy, music and medicine, teacher education, and studioinstruction, among other subjects, making it an essential reference for music education programs. The original Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning, published in 1992 with the sponsorship of the Music Educators National Conference (MENC), was hailed as "a welcome addition to theliterature on music education because it serves to provide definition and unity to a broad and complex field" (Choice). This new companion volume, again with the sponsorship of MENC, explores the significant changes in music and arts education that have taken place in the last decade. Notably,several chapters now incorporate insights from other fields to shed light on multi-cultural music education, gender issues in music education, and non-musical outcomes of music education. Other chapters offer practical information on maintaining musicians' health, training music teachers, andevaluating music education programs. Philosophical issues, such as musical cognition, the philosophy of research theory, curriculum, and educating musically, are also explored in relationship to policy issues. In addition to surveying the literature, each chapter considers the significance of theresearch and provides suggestions for future study.Covering a broad range of topics and addressing the issues of music education at all age levels, from early childhood to motivation and self-regulation, this handbook is an invaluable resource for music teachers, researchers, and scholars.
MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning by Richard Colwell (Editor); Peter R. Webster (Editor)
Call Number: MT1 .M444 2011 vol.1
ISBN: 9780195386677
Publication Date: 2011-11-23
The MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning, Volume 1: Strategies brings together the best and most current research on methods for music learning, focusing squarely on the profession's empirical and conceptual knowledge of how students gain competence in music at various ages and indifferent contexts. The collection of chapters, written by the foremost figures active in the field, takes a broad theoretical perspective on current, critical areas of research, including music development, music listening and reading, motivation and self-regulated learning in music, musicperception, and movement. The book's companion volume, Applications, builds an extensive and solid position of practice upon the frameworks and research presented here.Throughout both volumes in this essential set, focus is placed on the musical knowledge and musical skills needed to perform, create, understand, reflect on, enjoy, value, and respond to music. A key point of emphasis rests on the relationship between music learning and finding meaning in music, andas music technology plays an increasingly important role in learning today, chapters move beyond exclusively formal classroom instruction into other forms of systematic learning and informal instruction.Either individually or paired with its companion Volume 2: Applications, this indispensable overview of this growing area of inquiry will appeal to students and scholars in Music Education, as well as front-line music educators in the classroom.
MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning by Richard Colwell (Editor); Peter Webster (Editor)
Call Number: MT1 .M444 2011 vol.2
ISBN: 9780199754397
Publication Date: 2011-11-23
The MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning, Volume 2: Applications brings together the best and most current research on best practice for music learning, focusing squarely on the profession's empirical and conceptual knowledge of how students gain competence in music at various ages andin different contexts. The collection of chapters, written by the foremost figures active in the field, addresses a range of best practices for approaching current and important areas in the field, including cognition and perception, music listening, vocal/choral learning, and the needs of speciallearners. The book's companion volume, Strategies, provides the solid theoretical framework and extensive research upon which these practices stand.Throughout both volumes in this essential set, focus is placed on the musical knowledge and musical skills needed to perform, create, understand, reflect on, enjoy, value, and respond to music. A key point of emphasis rests on the relationship between music learning and finding meaning in music, andas music technology plays an increasingly important role in learning today, chapters move beyond exclusively formal classroom instruction into other forms of systematic learning and informal instruction.Either individually or paired with its companion Volume 1: Strategies, this indispensable overview of this growing area of inquiry will appeal to students and scholars in Music Education, as well as front-line music educators in the classroom.
MENC Handbook of Musical Cognition and Development by Richard Colwell
Call Number: Online Only
ISBN: 9781429468633
Publication Date: 2006-01-01

Helpful Databases for Research

Important Databases to Utilize

Stuck on Where to Look?

Use one of these databases to help you find the sources you need.

Each of the Databases below can lead you to new sources or existing research on your topic of choice. Remember in your searches to start broadly on the topic, and then work your way into more detailed searches as you come across more relevant sources.

Dissertations and Theses (Marshall)

Dissertations and Theses Global

ERIC

Subject Headings & Call Numbers

Call Numbers, Subject Headings, & the Library of Congress

If you are looking for books on Music Education at any of our Marshall Libraries, here is a brief overview of the call number sections that may be helpful in your search. The Drinko, Morrow, and Charleston Library Stacks are organized through the Library of Congress cataloguing system which assigns Music subject books under the designation "M." For Music Education a good place to start is under the "MT" designation.

MT1: Music--Instruction and study
MT2-MT5: Music--Instruction and study--History of music education
MT20-MT32: Music--Instruction and study--Special Methods
- such as:
- MT22.A2-Z: Jacques Dalcroze
- MT23: Kodaly
- MT26: Orff
MT70-MT74: Instrumentation and orchestration
- MT70-MT71: Orchestra
- MT70.5: Vocal and choral arranging
- MT73: Band
MT85: Conducting
MT86: Jazz band, dance band, etc., instruction, including conducting, organization, and management
MT87: Community music
MT88: Administration and instruction of vocal groups
MT150: Audio-visual instructional guides
MT155: Music theory for children
MT170-MT810: Instrumental Techniques
- MT730: Orchestra
- MT733: Band
- MT740-MT810: Instrumental techniques for Children
MT820-MT949 - Singing and Voice Culture

Subject Headings are great ways to search for a particular type of topic that you are looking for in your research. Subject Headings are standardized under the Library of Congress classification, so locating a particular subject heading can be searched in not only our Marshall Libraries but in libraries across the U.S. Use one of the following Subject Headings to help you narrow down your search.

Subject Headings: