Music Research Guide

The first general reference work on Latin American choral music, this research guide catalogs composers and their works from 1550 to the present. It provides bio-bibliographical and stylistic information about composers and detailed information about specific works, including choral and instrumental requirements, and duration and source information such as publishers, manuscripts, locations, and recordings. In addition to the main catalog, the volume offers a brief history of music in Latin America emphasizing choral music; a guide to research in the field; bibliographies of literature on the subject, of biographies, and of periodicals; and a discography with library holdings. Useful appendixes list music publishers and recording companies of Latin American classical music; scholars, research institutions, and schools of music in the United States with a special interest in Latin American music; scholars, research institutions, and schools of music in Latin America; and music archives in Latin America. A comprehensive research tool for Latin American choral music, this volume will also serve scholars and researchers as a basic guide to sources for Latin American classical music. Both scholarly and practical, it will be valuable for choruses, orchestras, and other performing groups.

Explores key themes in African music that have emerged in recent years-a subject usually neglected in country-by-country coverage emphasizes the contexts of musical performance-unlike studies that offer static interpretations isolated from other performing traditions presents the fresh insights and analyses of musicologists and anthropologists of diverse national origins-African, Asian, European, and American Charts the flow and influence of music. The Encyclopedia also charts the musical interchanges that followed the movement of people and ideas across the continent, including: cross-regional musical influences throughout Africa * Islam and its effect on African music * spread of guitar music * Kru mariners of Liberia * Latin American influences on African music * musical interchanges in local contexts * crossovers between popular and traditional practices. Audio CD included. Also includes nine maps and 96 music examples.

A guide to the thousands of characters, who people the history of music, this volume brings together all the biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today. A companion to The New Harvard Dictionary of Music, this biographical dictionary emphasizes classical and art music, but also gives attention to jazz and blues, rock and pop, and hymns and showtunes across the ages - with care devoted to coverage of the 20th century.

This text has been the standard guide to source literature of music and contains critically annotated listings of over 3,500 key sources. This comprehensive guide to reference sources is organized into chapters by category of source. The text's organization introduces students to a vast array of sources to include: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias; Histories and Chronologies; Sources of Systematic and Historical Musicology; Bibliographies of Music, Music Literature, and Music Business; Reference Works on Individual Composers and Their Music; Catalogs of Libraries and Musical Instrument Collections; Discographies; Yearbooks; Directories; Electronic Resources.

An index to the contents of 621 song books published between 1854 and 1992 and acquired by the State Library of Louisiana, Song Finder provides access to 32,000 songs, with emphasis on collections of theater songs, folk songs, children's songs, religious music, rock, country, and pop music standards. Also well represented are African-American music, movie and television theme songs, seasonal music, patriotic songs, military music, and songs of foreign lands. Three-fourths of the song books have never been indexed, and 85 percent are not included in any index currently in print. A third of the individual songs have never been indexed before. Songs can be located in Song Finder by title only. Under each title are letter symbols representing song books which include the song. Bibliographical information on the song books can be found in the first section of the book, the list of collections indexed, which also provides OCLC numbers to facilitate interlibrary loan. For each printing of a song, Song Finder notes whether the book provides music only, words only, or both words and music. The index also identifies lyrics in a foreign language and whether there is an English translation. Other indexes do not offer this kind of detail, which allows users to find the version of a song that is suitable to their needs. Also helpful to the user are cross references which link alternate titles and compensate for variant and nonstandard spellings. Users uncertain of the title of an advertising jingle, or the theme song of a film or television show, will find cross references from the name of the product or show to the correct song title.

The Sourcebook for Research in Music, in this revised and greatly expanded second edition, is an invaluable guide to the researcher in navigating the vast proliferation of materials in music research. The editors emphasize English-language and recent sources, and also include essential materials in other languages. An opening chapter of introductory materials, including a list of common bibliographical terms with definitions, German and French bibliographical terms, and the plan of the Library of Congress and the Dewey Decimal music classification systems, is followed by seven bibliographical chapters, covering lists of sources as well as collective annotations that introduce and identify specific items. A reference tool containing varied information relating to research in music, the Sourcebook will serve as a classroom text and as a resource for individual music researchers, librarians, faculty members, students, performing and teaching musicians, and musical amateurs.