Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business Research For Companies
- America's Corporate Families - Ref HG 4057 .A147 - finds parent companies and has a brand-name index
- Hoover's Corporate Directory - Choose the Company name search for the Corporate Directory and if your company is included you will see a page of general information, plus Hoover's will offer links to other websites related to your company.
- New York Stock Exchange Companies - Links to home pages of companies listed on the NYSE.
- InvestorsEdge Client List - Corporate Descriptions from companies that list themselves with this service. Includes brief financial information, stock history chart, and links to other sources.
- Kompass International: - Worldwide directory of 1.5 million companies in almost 70 countries.
- Ward's Business Directory - Ref HG 4057 .A57
- Yahoo's Directory of Businesses - An index of company web sites.
- SearchBug: - Free local business search. Find phone, address, map location, services and user reviews of a US business.
- Dun's Business Rankings - Ref HG4057.A237
- EDGAR Database: - Securities and Exchange Commission corporate filings with a 24 hour delay.
- Industry Surveys (Standard & Poor's) - Ref. HG4501.S68 - provides information on U.S. industries with analysis, trends and outlook. Includes charts and statistics on individual companies.
- Justquotes.com - This website provides histories of stock quotes, analysts' research, earnings estimates, charts, etc.
- Mergent's Manuals - Ref HG 4057 - Mergent's Manuals are 8 annual volumes that include over 22,000 companies listed on major stock exchanges. Each report includes a brief company history, description of business, list of properties and subsidiaries, and financial data. Hint: Use Mergent's Complete Corporate Index (Ref HG 4905.M87) first, to locate which volume includes your company.
- Trading-Day.com - This website provides investment information.
- Value Line Investment Survey - Reference Desk Ref. HG4501.V26 - a weekly service that includes financial analysis with charts of past performances and a summary of the prospective performance of companies as investments. Includes an alphabetical index of company names and industry surveys.
- ZD Interactive Investor:
- Business Periodical Index - Ref. Z7164.C81B983 - a good paper source for indexing business literature.
- Wall Street Journal Index - Reference - hint: the Corporate Volume allows you to search by company name.
- Business Source Premier - EBSCOhost
This is the worlds largest full text business database and provides full text articles for more than 8,350 scholarly business journals, including full text for nearly 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes vitually all subject areas related to business. Full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals. Coverage: As far back as 1922
- Academic (LexisNexis) - LexisNexis
Full-text articles and documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. News sources include newspapers, wire services, and more. Legal sources include U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, international, and Shepards Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. Coverage: varies