Skip to Main Content

Ask A Librarian Hours Library Catalog Article Databases RESEARCH SERVICES HELP INFORMATION FOR...

How Do I: Do Legal Research?: Articles and books

How to search for legal cases and materials, without being a lawyer..

Your starting point

Unless you have a specific citation, the secondary sources on this page are probably your starting point. They help you

find context and background on the topic or legal case you are researching
refine your keywords and concepts
provide citations to cases and other legal materials on your topic.

Articles

Seach Summon

Books

Credo Reference
Now offering more than 600 highly regarded reference titles from over 80 publishers, Credo Literati covers every major subject and also provides Topic Pages as a starting point for researchers.

Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law by Jeffrey Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: Online through Gale Virtual Reference Library

ISBN: 9781414498966

Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford Companion to American Law by Kermit L. Hall (Editor); Joel B. Grossman (Editor); James W. Ely (Editor); N. E. H. Hull (Editor); David S. Clark (Editor)
Call Number: Drinko reference KF154 .O96 2002

ISBN: 0195088786

Publication Date: 2002
West's Encyclopedia of American Law. 2nd ed. by Jeffrey Lehman; Shirelle Phelps
Call Number: Online through Gale Virtual Reference Library and (Drinko reference KF154 .W47 2005

ISBN: 0787663670

Publication Date: 2004
The Handy Supreme Court Answer Book by David L. Hudson
Call Number: eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

ISBN: 9781578592364

Publication Date: 2007
Great American Court Cases Series by Mark F. Mikula (Editor); L. Mpho Mabunda (Editor); Allison McClintic Marion (Editor)
Call Number: Drinko reference KF385.A4 G68 1999

ISBN: 0787629472

Publication Date: 1999
Legal Research and Writing for Paralegals by Deborah E. Bouchoux
Call Number: Drinko general collection KF240 .B68 2006

ISBN: 9780735551053

Publication Date: 2005

Legal reference books

Legal Words You Should Know by Corey Sandler; Janice Keefe
Call Number: online through eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

ISBN: 9781440520006

Publication Date: 2009

This book defines 1,000 essential words from the worlds of civil law, estates, lending, and elder affairs.
Black's Law Dictionary, Standard Ninth Edition by Bryan A. Garner
Call Number: Drinko reference KF156 .B53 2009; South Charleston Library Reference KF156 .B53 1990

ISBN: 9780314199492

Publication Date: 2009; 1999; 1990

The standard dictionary for legal terms and phrases.
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation. 18th ed. by Harvard Law
Call Number: Drinko reference KF245 .B58 2005; and other locations

ISBN: 9301065479

Publication Date: 2006

The essential guide to legal citation.
Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations by Mary M. Prince
Call Number: Drinko reference KF246 .B46 1993

ISBN: 0899418473

Publication Date: 1993

Book includes an extensive range of acronyms & symbols found in reporters, law reviews, and other legal works.
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law by Merriam-Webster, Inc. Staff (Editor)
Call Number: Available online through Credo Literati

ISBN: 9780877796046

Publication Date: 1996

A convenient, comprehensive guide to the language of law. Over 10,000 entries. Includes pronunciations, example phrases, and usage notes.