Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Use Statistics?
Statistical data are elemental building blocks of scholarly inquiry. They provide support for hypotheses and arguments. Understanding how to collect and use data correctly is critical to scientific analysis. The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science contains this background article on Psychometrics.
More coverage of statistical topics is at: VassarStats: Website for Statistical Computation. This is a useful and user-friendly tool for performing statistical computation. Links show an annotated list of the statistical procedures available under each rubric (e.g. distributions, ordinal data).
Basic Psychological Measurement, Research Designs, and Statistics Without Math by
Call Number: Ebsco ebook collection
Publication Date: 2006
This book is designed to give students the confidence to understand theoretically issues like reliability and validity and through calculator and statistical packages such as Microsoft Excel, SPSS, SAS, and EQS. Students are shown that they can easily find reliability and validity measures without mathematics.
Using Test Data in Clinical Practice by
Call Number: Drinko general collection RC473.P79 M33 2002
Publication Date: 2002
This book was written to help students and mental health clinicians with the daunting task of learning how to synthesize test data from numerous instruments into a meaningful treatment plan and strategy for a client.
Statista is a statistical database that draws more that 1 million statistics from over 18,000 sources. Dossiers, reports, and infographics are included. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Mental Health & Substance Abuse
National Center for Health Statistics
Website at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that links to all kinds of health statistics.
FastStats: Mental Health - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Quick access to statistics on mental health topics. Click on the FastStats homepage button for statistics on other topics of public health importance. Links lead to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
CDC Mental Health Stats
Information on access to mental health and mental illness (MH/MI) surveillance data sources is provided on various MH/MI topics. Data sources include the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS).
SAMHSA - Office of Applied Studies Data
Primary source of U.S. data on the prevalence, treatment, and consequences of substance abuse. OAS is the national source of information on the location, organization, and capacity of providers which offer services to prevent and treat substance abuse, and the cost, quality, and effectiveness of the services of these providers.
World Health Organization (WHO) - Mental Health
Publications from the WHO and information on mental health programs around the world.
Children and Adolescents
A portal to data from 22 government agencies on a wide variety of topics for children and families. The annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, provides a summary of national indicators of child well-being and monitors changes in these indicators over time.
Child Maltreatment Prevention - Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Reports, information, and statistics on all types of abuse and neglect of a child under the age of 18 by a parent, caregiver, or another person in a custodial role (e.g., clergy, coach, teacher).
UNICEF Data: Monitoring the Situation of Children and Women
The most up-to-date data and analysis on the situation of women and children around the world.
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN)
Data archive on child welfare and maltreatment from Cornell University. It promotes scholarly exchange among researchers, including the exchange of datasets and operation of an online discussion list.
Children's Defense Fund (CDF)
Reports, charts, studies, etc. on child poverty, health, education.
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention - Statistical Briefing Book
Enables users to access online information via OJJDP's website to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system.