Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newest Database Offerings
Does the Library have the journal I need?
Once you have a citation or bibliographic information for an article:
- Try the Journals Search
Type in the title of the journal or magazine that your article appeared in. If it shows up on the result list, follow the link to the article database that contains it or find the copy in the library.
- If we don't have direct access to the journal or magazine, you can request articles through our Information Delivery Services. Most articles are delivered over the web at no charge; paper copies are 10 cents a page.
- You can also try Google Scholar Advanced Search to see if there is a copy of the article available on the Web.
To see what psychology-related journals Marshall has, use the Journals Search.
For a comprehensive list of psychology and social science journals go to PSYCLINE, "Your Guide to Psychology and Social Science Journals on the Web." Maintained by a German psychologist, this links to journal home pages and journal information on the web. You may use it to find out about existing journals in the field, contact publishers, browse tables of contents and abstracts, and locate online articles.
These resources include abstracts and, often, the full text of the article. When you do your searches, try various techniques to improve the accuracy of your results; whatever database you are in, look for a "Help" or "Search Tips" link to get more advice. Many databases include an "Advanced Searching" option: use it to quickly and easily improve the accuracy of your searches and get fewer but higher quality search results.
This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed. Coverage: 1806 - current
This database offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1. Coverage: 1894 - current.
The collection of 244 videos is searchable by keyword, expert, therapeutic issue, and client population. Web tools like clip making, interactive running transcripts, smart keyword search, and downloadable instructor's manuals empower users to easily explore, present, and share our videos with colleagues, students, or interns - responding adaptively to unique teaching and training needs
CINAHL Complete CINAHL Complete provides broad content coverage including over 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. With CINAHL Complete users get fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
This database is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
Emerald Management 120 Emerald's Management collection features over 80,000 articles from over 200 titles. The collection continues to disseminate the latest thinking, from authors at 95 of the Financial Times Top 100 business schools and forms an essential part of the research library at most of these institutions. Our specialist collections in fields such as Education, Engineering, Library Studies and Marketing build on this strength; offering focused international research in a range of subject fields.
ERIC (EBSCO) ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.
ScienceDirect Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic information in both books and journal formats. More than 2,000 authoritative titles.
SpringerLINK Full text access to more than 750 journals, with the ability to search across the table of contents and abstracts of all journals formerly owned by Kluwer. Includes journals in the humanities, sciences, medicine, and social sciences.
Use critical thinking skills when deciding whether an article is appropriate to use. Consider:
- Purpose: Does the article want to inform, entertain, sell, persuade, or educate you?
- Objectivity: Are various sides or points-of-view represented? If not, is the bias presented clearly?
- Authority: Does the author have expertise on the topic? Is the source well regarded?
- Currency: Is the information current or timely for your topic?
- Bibliography: Are the sources of information cited completely and accurate?
Periodicals, journals, and magazines fall into categories determined by their overall purpose:
- Scholarly: Written for, and by, researchers, educators, or students. Articles are reports of original research or other scholarly discussions. "Peer reviewed" is another term often used for a specific type of scholarly article.
- Popular: Written for the general public. Authors and editors usually are not experts in the subject field; their purpose is to provide current, societal/cultural news and discussion.
- Trade: Written for individuals in a specific career/job or with a specific interest/hobby. Authors are generally persons working in the field/hobby or journalists with specialized knowledge. Articles discuss current issues but are not reports of research.
can help you tell if your source is scholarly or popular.