HUMN 650 - Non-Profits in Appalachia: Resources - Appalachian Non Profits

Provides grants and resources to grassroots organizations in Appalachia, with a focus on social and economic justice.

Focuses on economic and community development in Appalachia, with reports, data, and funding recipients.

Offers academic and applied resources about the Appalachian region, including socio-economic studies and non-profit management insights.

Focuses on improving health and wellness in rural West Virginia, with resources on non-profit organizational practices.

Provides data and advocacy for improving rural life, including the Appalachian region. Useful for understanding community needs and non-profit strategies.

A collaborative of organizations focused on economic and community development across Central Appalachia.

Provides evaluations and ratings for non-profits. Search for Appalachian organizations and explore their mission, funding, and HR policies.

A West Virginia-based organization focusing on community-based economic development and workforce training. Great for understanding workforce innovation in Appalachia.

Supports non-profits in East Tennessee with grants, capacity-building resources, and community development programs.

Promotes community philanthropy in Appalachian Kentucky, with resources for non-profit development and workforce strategies.

A comprehensive database of U.S. non-profit organizations, including financials, leadership, and program information, GuideStar is a nonprofit research tool and the world's largest source of information on nonprofit organizations.

Based in Tennessee, Highlander works on economic justice and grassroots community support in Appalachia. It provides training and resources for non-profits and social justice organizations.

Focuses on economic development and sustainability in Eastern Kentucky. Offers technical assistance and workforce resources for non-profits and small businesses.

Includes resources on managing and leading non-profits, including HR best practices. Use the state-specific networks for Appalachian regions.

OANO’s mission is to provide leadership, education, and advocacy to enhance the ability of Ohio’s nonprofit organizations to serve their communities.

Supports rural community development efforts, including Appalachia, by providing resources and fostering collaboration.

A national organization supporting rural community development, including programs targeting the Appalachian region.

Focuses on building resilient economies in Appalachia through collaboration with non-profits and community organizations. Offers reports and success stories relevant to HR and organizational growth.

Works to strengthen economic and community development in rural Appalachia and the South. Provides data, reports, and workshops.

Serving Nonprofits. Strengthening West Virginia: established in 2012 to help build capacity within West Virginia’s nonprofit organizations and to advance the sector as a whole.

Provides studies and reports on Appalachian social and economic conditions, including insights useful for HR and organizational development.