The Resilient Sector: The state of nonprofit America by
A Brookings Institution Press and the Aspen Institute publication The Resilient Sector makes available in an updated form the concise overview of the state of health of America's nonprofit organizations that Johns Hopkins scholar Lester Salamon recently completed as part of the "state of nonprofit America" project he undertook in cooperation with the Aspen Institute. Contrary to popular understanding, Salamon argues, America's nonprofit organizations have shown remarkable resilience in recent years in the face of a variety of difficult challenges, significantly re-engineering themselves in the process. But this very resilience now poses risks for the sector's continued ability to perform the tasks that we have long expected of it. The Resilient Sector offers nonprofit practitioners, policymakers, the press, and the public at large a lively assessment of this set of institutions that we have long taken for granted, but that the Frenchman Alexis de-Toqueville recognized to be "more deserving of our attention" than almost any other part of the American experiment.
Doing Ethnography Today : Theories, Methods, Exercises by
Doing Ethnography Today explores the methodologies and theories behind contemporary, collaborative ethnography and provides an opportunity to cultivate experience with included exercises. * Presents ethnography as creative and artful rather than analytical or technical * Emphasises the collaborative nature of ethnography * Structured exercises cultivate practical experience * Includes a discussion on indexing and interpreting project materials * Provides guidance on interview questions and selecting appropriate field equipment
The Power of Appreciative Inquiry: A Practical Guide to Positive Change by
NEW EDITION, REVISED AND UPDATEDThe Power of Appreciative Inquiry describes the internationally embraced approach to organizational change that dramatically improves performance by engaging people to study, discuss, and build upon what's working - strengths - rather than trying to fix what's not. Diana Whitney and Amanda Trosten-Bloom, pioneers in the development and practice of Appreciative Inquiry (AI), provide a menu of eight results-oriented applications, along with case examples from a wide range of organizations to illustrate Appreciative Inquiry in action. A how-to book, this is the most authoritative and accessible guide to the newest ideas and practices in the field of Appreciative Inquiry since its inception in 1985.The second edition includes new examples, tools, and tips for using AI to create an enduring capacity for positive change, along with a totally new chapter on award-winning community applications of Appreciative Inquiry.
The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management by
The go-to nonprofit handbook, updated and expanded for today's leader The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management is the bestselling professional reference and leading text on the functions, processes, and strategies that are integral to the effective leadership and management of nonprofit and nongovernmental organizations. Now in its fourth edition, this handbook presents the most current research, theory, and practice in the field of nonprofit leadership and management. This practical, relevant guide is invaluable to the effective practice of nonprofit leadership and management, with expanded attention to accountability, transparency, and organizational effectiveness. It also extensively covers the practice of social entrepreneurship, presented via an integrative perspective that helps the reader make practical sense of how to bring it all together. Nonprofit organizations present unique opportunities and challenges for meeting the needs of societies and their communities, yet nonprofit management is more complex and challenging than ever. This Handbook provides a framework to help you lead and manage efficiently and effectively in this new environment. Building on solid current scholarship, the handbook provides candid, practical guidance from nationally-recognized leaders who share their insights on: The relationship between board performance and organizational effectiveness Managing internal and external stakeholder relationships Financial viability and sustainability and how to enhance both for the long term Strategies to successfully attract, retain, and mobilize the very best of staff and volunteers The fourth edition of the handbook also includes content relevant to associations and membership organizations. The content of the handbook is supplemented and enriched by an extensive set of online supplements and tools, including reading lists, web references, checklists, PowerPoint slides, discussion guides, and sample exams. Running your nonprofit or nongovernmental organization effectively in today's complex and challenging environment demands more knowledge and skill than ever, deployed in a thoughtful and pragmatic way. Grounded in the most useful modern scholarship and theory, and explained from the perspective of effective practice, The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management is a pivotal resource for successful nonprofit leaders in these turbulent times.
Got stuck? At any point during the previous steps, if something doesn't work properly, simply Ask a Librarian for help.