Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

How To: Search for Sources

 

Start with Summon

Often, when are just beginning to get familiar with researching a topic, it is easy to get overwhelmed by all of the different resources that Marshall University Libraries has to offer. Luckily, you can use the Summon Search on the MU Libraries homepage, and search almost everything that the Library has to offer.

View the tutorial or the video below for help with using Summon to search for resources.

 

Do background research when...

...you aren't ready to jump straight into your research. Sometimes, you simply need background information so that you have a better idea of what you should be searching for. Below are two recommended databases to try when you need to get a better grasp of your topic before looking for scholarly sources.

Credo Reference is a database made up of encyclopedia and dictionary entries that are credible and will help you gain a better understanding of your topic. View the tutorial below to learn how to use Credo Reference to search for sources. 

Searching for sources in Credo Reference by Kacy Lovelace

CQ Researcher is a database that provides in-depth information about current events. Each full report includes heavily-researched sections with a hyperlinked list of references that you can then use in your own research, if relevant. View the tutorial below to learn how to use CQ Researcher to search for sources. 

Searching for sources in CQ Researcher by Kacy Lovelace