How to: Choose a topic and craft a research question

1. Have you researched anything for past courses that you can build upon now by digging deeper, or addressing it with newer, more complex questions?

• Can you explore any subtopics that were outside of the scope of the earlier assignment?
• What questions did the earlier assignment raise that you didn't address?
• Can you connect the earlier topic to a secondary topic to explore them together in a new way?
• Important: When using a topic or content from a previous class, always ask your current professor for permission on how and when to use that earlier research and/or content.

2. Is there anything directly related to your capstone/portfolio, and/or your future career that would benefit you to research now?

• Thinking about future courses and/or your life outside the university can spark an idea to ensure you are staying on top of the research in your field, and finding relevant, applicable information to give you an advantage later on. 
• Try looking for trade journals in your discipline.
  • A trade journal is a periodical that contains news and items of interest concerning a particular trade, field, or profession. They're written by experts working in a field, for experts working in a field. Examples include Advertising Age, Chemical Week, and Accounting Today.
  • You can find trade journals by entering your keywords into the Summon search on the library's homepage, then choosing "Trade Journal Articles" from the Content Type filter in the Refine Your Search menu on the Results page:

Image: Look for the Trade Publication option on the results page of your Summon search, in the Refine section. Access Summon from the library's homepage, and treat it like Google. 

• You can also look for subject-specific databases.
  • A subject-specific database is a digital platform that houses scholarly and peer-reviewed (and, sometimes, trade) journals specific to a discipline, such as teaching, psychology, history, education, etc.
  • You can locate a subject-specific database by clicking on the Article Databases tab on the homepage, and then entering your subject or discipline into the search box. You can also browse the full list of databases by clicking on "All Databases."

Image: Locate the main search box on the library's homepage, and click on the Article Databases tab to search for subject-specific articles (highlighted example), or view the full list with descriptions by clicking on All Databases.

How to Go from Topic to Research Question

After choosing a topic and gathering background information, add focus with a structured research question:

1. Explore questions.

• Ask open-ended “how” and “why” questions about your general topic.
• Consider the “so what” of your topic. Why does this topic matter to you? Why should it matter to others?
• Reflect on the questions you have considered. Identify one or two questions you find engaging and which
• could be explored further through research.

2. Determine and evaluate your research question.

• What aspect of the more general topic you will explore?
• Is your research question clear?
• Is your research question focused? (Research questions must be specific enough to be well covered in the space available.)
• Is your research question complex? (Questions shouldn’t have a simple yes/no answer and should require research and analysis.)

3. Hypothesize. After you’ve come up with a question, consider the path your answer might take.

• If you are making an argument, what will you say?
• Why does your argument matter?
• How might others challenge your argument?
• What kind of sources will you need to support your argument?

If you're having difficulty, try a Concept Map!

Concept mapping (aka "mind mapping") is a brainstorming technique that lets you visualize concepts and ideas.

• This technique starts with a research question or main idea, then adds branches with synonyms, related topic, keywords, and examples.
• This technique can be used to generate keywords or main ideas based on your research question, and helpful in making connections between ideas.
• For example, if you were assigned to create an oral presentation on how rock music has evolved from the latter half of the 20th century to the present, then your research question would go in the center circle and main ideas (e.g. use of technology, commercialism) would go in the adjoining circles. Next, use the main ideas to develop keywords, phrases, or connections.

Our reference database called Credo Reference will make a mind map for you when you enter search terms. The map it generates consists of related terms that, when clicked, will bring a new set of results, and reset the map according to those terms.

Try it out: Credo Reference

The goal is a clear, focused, complex research question.