Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biology and Environmental Science Databases
Biological Science Index
This resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the biological science literature and over two dozens related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types. Includes MEDLINE® and TOXLINE. Coverage: 1946 - current
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. Provided by the WV Library Commission.
This database is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. It focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic information in both books and journal formats. More than 2,000 authoritative titles. The collection includes high-impact-factor titles such as THE LANCET, Cell and Tetrahedron. Online tutorials show how to customize searches, save search results, and create alerts.
Earth Science & Geography Databases
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 4.8 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
American Botanical Council Library
ABC Library includes a range of educational materials about herbs and medicinal plants, including Herbalgram, Herbclip, Healthy Ingredients, Commission E Monographs and HerbMedPro.
Now offering more than 800 highly regarded reference titles from over 80 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject and also provides Topic Pages as a starting point for researchers.
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the most comprehensive geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef contains millions of references to geoscience maps, serial, and non-serial literature. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. Coverage for North American resources starts in 1669, whereas worldwide coverage starts in 1933.
World Book Online
The WV Library Commission has added World Book Online to its WVInfoDepot.org database selections. Included in the subscription are the following resources: World Book Kids, World Book Student; World Book Advanced; World Book Discover; Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos; Early World Of Learning, World Book eBooks, and World Book Timelines.