Theses & Dissertations

Style Resources for Marshall University Students

In addition to the current Marshall University ETD Guidelines, you can find free information about your chosen style at the links below.

American Institute of Physics (AIP)

• AIP Style Manual, Fourth Edition
• AIP Research Data Policy (including Data Availability Statement templates, data citations, and an FAQ)

American Medical Association (AMA)

• AMA Manual of Style (requires Marshall University login)
  Available to Marshall students, faculty, and staff as an eBook in the eBook Central database.
• AMA Style Quizzes

American Psychological Association (APA)

• APAStyle.APA.org
  Much of the current APA style guide is available for free on this part of their website.
• Marshall University APA 7th Edition LibGuide
• Marshall University Quick Guide to Citing Sources

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)

• ASME Elements of a Paper: References
• ASME Journal Guidelines: References
  Sample references for different source types in ASME style and journal title abbreviations.
• University of Michigan Libraries ASME Citation Style LibGuide
• University of Missouri Libraries ASME Citation Guide LibGuide

Bluebook (Legal Materials)

• Bluebook Citation for Legal Meterials (Purdue Online Writing Lab / Purdue OWL)

Chicago Manual of Style / Turabian Manual

• Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
  • Notes and Bibliography Style: Sample Citations
  • Author-Date Style: Sample Citations
• Turabian Citation Quick Guide
  • Notes and Bibliography Style: Sample Citations
  • Author-Date Style: Sample Citations
• Turabian Student Paper-Formatting Tip Sheets
  (Includes demonstrations of various manuscript formatting elements such as page numbers, figures, footnotes, and more.)
• Marshall University Quick Guide to Citing Sources

Council of Science Editors (CSE)

• Scientific Style and Format Citation Quick Guide
  A quick guide to building the most common reference types in CSE style using the citation-sequence, citation-name, and name-year systems.

Ecological Society of America (Ecology Style)

• California State University Channel Islands Writing & Multiliteracy Center Ecology Style Guide
• University of San Francisco Gleeson Library Ecology Citation Style Guide
• Ecological Society of America Manuscript Preparation Guide

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

• IEEE Editorial Style Manual
  Includes free, downloadable PDF copies of the following manuals
  • IEEE Editorial Style Manual for Authors (grammar and document formatting guidelines)
  • IEEE Mathematics Guide (instructions for rendering mathematical equations)
  • IEEE Reference Guide (instructions for citing references)
• IEEE Reference Preparation Assistant

Legal Information

• Cornell University Law School Legal Information Institute (LII) Intro to Basic Legal Citation

Modern Language Association (MLA)

• MLA Handbook Plus (requires Marshall University login)
  Online access to the MLA handbook for Marshall University, students, faculty, and staff
• Marshall University MLA 8th Edition LibGuide
• Marshall University Quick Guide to Citing Sources

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

• Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers (2nd Edition)
  Includes free, searchable online access and a free, downloadable PDF version.
• MEDLINE/PubMed Resources: Samples of Formatted References for Authors of Journal Articles 
  Details, including fuller citations and explanations, are in Citing Medicine (linked above). Note Appendix F which covers how citations in MEDLINE/PubMed differ from the advice in Citing Medicine.
• Construction of the National Library of Medicine Title Abbreviations
  Discusses the rules currently used by NLM to construct title abbreviations for journals indexed in PubMed. Users may encounter older references to titles abbreviated using different rules.