Search MU Libraries' collection for print and online books, articles and more with this web discovery tool.
Advanced Public Speaking: A Leader's Guide by
Advanced Public Speaking: A Leader's Guide is a comprehensive textbook designed to serve as a speech-making reference for upper-level undergraduate students. Now in its second edition, this volume offers brand new classroom-tested chapter assignments, updated examples, and new content on speaking to international and remote audiences. An instructor's manual and test bank are available for download on the book's companion website, offering everything from guidance in constructing a syllabus, to lecture suggestions, to classroom activities. This student-engagement focused and flexible text offers students the opportunity to increase their speaking abilities across a variety of more specific and complex contexts.
The Book on Public Speaking by
If you look at the trends of over 30 years ago in fashion, technology, architecture, and any other industry, what was cutting edge back then has become cliché and grossly out of date now. But in the speaking industry, most people get up and still walk, talk, and sound like the 1980's motivational speakers of yesteryear. The Book on Public Speaking takes a head-on approach and challenges the status quo for business leaders that speak in front of their staff, board of directors, and the public. After reading this book you will be privy to the most current methods for speaking to an audience for maximum impact in today's more sophisticated and skeptical culture. If you are the type of business leader who has achieved a level of success in life and feel compelled to share your story with the world, don't lessen that impact by imitating out-dated speaking techniques. Instead, break the mold of the speaker cliché and tap into a speaking style that is authentic, packs a punch, and leaves the audience wanting more.
The Complete Guide to Public Speaking by
The ability to powerfully and persuasively impact audiences is an important part of your career and your life. This book offers a bold, comprehensive compendium of what it takes to succeed as a public speaker. Six major topic areas include identifying and developing a dynamite speaking topic; enlivening your presentations with humor, movement, and stories; positioning and marketing your speech; winning and negotiating speaker contracts; building groundwork activities leading up to the performance; and inspiring audiences.
How to Communicate Effectively with Anyone, Anywhere by
Doing business nowadays often means globally, whether with clients, customers, or business partners. Communicating your message effectively--online or in person--has become a must. If you want the best outcome, you must serve the growing need for cultural training that links awareness to action. "A masterclass in authentic global communication. Full of specific frameworks and actionable tips, it is a must-read for anyone looking to bolster or refine their professional communication toolkit."--Elizabeth Owens Skidmore, Sponsorship Specialist, Bell Canada In our increasingly interconnected world, effective communication is the formula for success in any industry. Whether you're speaking in public, writing an email, or navigating an important negotiation, how you present yourself through language is all-important in today's global business world. In How to Communicate Effectively with Anyone, Anywhere, two New York University professors reveal a new approach to global communication across key performance areas, including effective emailing, public speaking, and negotiation. How to Communicate Effectively with Anyone, Anywhere, with key illustrations, is part instructional text, part empowering workbook, containing practical and proven strategies that can be put to immediate use, along with exercises designed to impart valuable self-discovery and position you as an effective global communicator. You will gain not only the practical skills essential for operating across cultural settings but also a firm foundation for managing global transactions, international relationships, and worldwide innovation. We all know how to email, right? But contacting counterparts in China, Brazil, or Germany with success requires us to upgrade our skills with key strategies for an expanded and productive network of global interaction. Each chapter contains a practical, easy-to-implement framework that functions as a "blueprint" for global communication and how each skill can best be used virtually in remote work scenarios. For professionals looking to take their skill set to the next level, this book's approach is the key to connecting professional skills to a larger practice of global understanding, ultimately leading to you communicating effectively and impactfully with anyone, anytime, and anywhere.
How to Deliver a Great Speech That Will Change Minds and Influence People by
Public speaking is an art, and some of the most effective communicators in history have been artists. Think of Steve Jobs, John F Kennedy, Dale Carnegie, Martin Luther King, Jr and even President Barack Obama all public figures known for their eloquence when delivering a speech. A perfectly delivered speech is something that takes time, practice, and knowledge. This book is teeming with resources for public speaking, whether you are looking to get over your fear of speaking to a group of people or are running for political office and need an edge on your competition. According to The Phobia Clinic, fear of public speaking ranks among Americans top dreads, surpassing fear of illness, flying, terrorism, and often the fear of death itself. It is no wonder delivering a speech can seem like a large hurdle for many people. Even the most brilliant ideas have to be communicated with poise and enthusiasm or the message will be lost due to poor delivery. You will discover how to overcome public speaking fright and phobia by being prepared, rehearsed, and ready for a number of unforeseen circumstances. You will learn how to write a memorable speech and how to impact and persuade your audience. This book also includes tips on understanding your audience, holding their attention, knowing what to talk about and what not to include, organising your speech, perfecting your timing, handling Q&A sessions, and much more. You will also grasp how to put together informative, educational, and well-designed visual aids, including electronic presentations. The book will also show you how you can gauge your audience s reaction and tailor the remainder of your presentation to have maximum appeal to the group you are speaking to. There is no need to worry with this book in your arsenal: You will learn everything you need to know to deliver an expertly written speech with poise and confidence.
Presentation Essentials: the Tools You Need to Captivate Your Audience, Deliver Your Story, and Make Your Message Memorable by
One of the first books in McGraw Hill's NEW Business Essentials Series--providing a how-to guide to develop powerful, engaging, and effective presentations for today's new world of work. Presentation Essentials covers the skills you need to feel totally confident in your presentation development and delivery. Organized in three easy-to-digest sections--The Essentials, The Essentials Applied, and Beyond the Essentials--this book provides feedback tools and assessments, a thorough explanation of key presentation topics including structure and storytelling, and is sprinkled with stunning illustrations throughout. You'll walk away feeling fully prepared to put your sharpened skills into action right away. Whether you are in a one-on-one meeting with your supervisor or pitching a new idea to a packed conference room of peers and leaders, knowing how to craft and deliver engaging presentations is an essential skill in every line of business. Confidence is key in every presentation--and sharpening your skills is the most direct route to building it. Presentation Essentials includes: Lessons including how to build your signature style, structure a powerfully engaging presentation, unleash the power of storytelling, and understand the different type of presentations "Essential Takeaways" at the end of each chapter ensure you walk away remembering special key points Part I includes everything you need to know about crafting powerful presentations, memorable catchphrases, one-liners, and visually stunning slides Part II begins with a presentation skills self-assessment and guides you to apply the essentials in various presentations including speeches, training, information delivery, persuasive talks, and more Part III includes a skills feedback tool, information on delivering presentations for a living (as a speaker, trainer, coach, or consultant), and more
Public Speaking Basics by
This textbook provides concise information, classroom exercises, homework assignments, and speeches to enable college students to master public speaking. There is an emphasis on creating effective thesis sentences, motivational appeals, introductions and conclusions, outlines, and supporting information. The text includes sample speeches for each speaking assignment along with pertinent speech evaluation forms. Chapter topics include speech anxiety, delivery, subject selection and audience analysis, thesis sentences, motivational appeals, organizing and outlining, introduction and conclusion methods, supporting information, presentational aids, effective listening, Standard American English sounds, and creating various informative, persuasive, and special occasion speeches. A sample course syllabus is provided, as well as a test study guide. In this revised edition, some of the chapter exercises have been revamped, some sample speech outlines updated, some of the explanations clarified, and a new special occasion speech has been included.
Public Speaking for Authors, Creatives and Other Introverts by
Are you an author or creative preparing for success?Do you want to learn to speak effectively in front of an audience? All successful creatives have to speak and present in public, whether that's at a festival, on a podcast or radio show, or as part of earning multiple streams of income. But you don't have to be like Tony Robbins, bouncing around on stage with a booming voice and larger than life personality. You just have to be you and tell your story in your own way. In this book, I'll share everything I know as a professional speaker, author, and introvert. It includes the practicalities of speaking, as well as mindset issues like anxiety, plus the business side if you want to make speaking an income stream. You will discover: ˃˃˃ PART 1: Practicalities of Speaking Types of speaking, deciding on your topic, preparation, managing your energy, tips for slide packs, handouts, workbooks and more, personal presentation, giving the talk, managing people, panels, feedback and testimonials, performance tips, improving your speaking over time ˃˃˃ PART 2: Mindset Tackling anxiety, growing your confidence and authenticity ˃˃˃ PART 3: The Speaking Business How to get speaking events, running your own events, marketing, generosity and networking with others, your speaker brand, website and speaker's page, professional photos, email marketing, content marketing, social media, video, audio, how much to charge, increasing your revenue streams, financial considerations. Conclusion and next steps. If you want to learn how to speak effectively in front of an audience, sample or buy now.
Speak! Overcoming the Fear and Horror of Public Speaking by
"The best way to deliver a powerful message is to 'be a good person skilled in speaking' . . . And you can change the world with your words." --Joe Hart, CEO, Dale Carnegie & Associates If the thought of speaking in public makes you anxious, you're not alone. The good news is that you don't need to suffer from stress when it's your time to stand up in front of others. Being comfortable as a speaker requires recognizing that speaking is not about you, it's about the audience. When we focus on the message the audience needs to hear, how it will be received by the audience, and we deliver it from the heart, the fear of public speaking disappears. "What makes a powerful presentation is the experience the speaker gives to an audience. By being yourself and letting people see who you really are, you leave every audience with a unique gift, and that gift is you." --Ercell Charles, VP of Customer Transformation, Dale Carnegie & Associates This book focuses on ways to unleash what we already have inside us: the ability to communicate our message through powerful, and even world-changing, presentations. Read this book and learn to conquer your fear of public speaking by: * Focusing on the audience * Delivering ideas convincingly * Presenting a confident image * Energizing an audience * Effectively explaining difficult subjects * Winning skeptics to your viewpoint * Persuading a group to take action
Summary of Dale Carnegie's the Art of Public Speaking by
Get the Summary of Dale Carnegie's The Art of Public Speaking in 20 minutes. Please note: This is a summary & not the original book. Original book introduction: Public speaking is a vital skill which is important in all spheres of life. Generally, people who are good at public speaking go a long way in their professional careers. Hence, acquiring sound public speaking skills at an early age is critical. Written by bestselling author Dale Carnegie, along with J. Berg Esenwein, The Art of Public Speaking lays out the important principles of creating and delivering successful speeches. Each chapter of this encouraging book will help readers hone their articulation skills and enable them to deliver an impactful speech as well.