Drinko Library and Morrow Library have thousands of books available for checkout. Remember that if Marshall does not have a book that you need, you can request the book from EZ Borrow or IDS/Interlibrary Loan.
Terminology of Communication Disorders by
The leading dictionary/sourcebook of terms for speech, language, and hearing pathology, Terminology of Communication Disorders is intended for students in speech, language, and hearing disorders programs, faculty, and practitioners. Terms are listed alphabetically and cross-referenced for synonyms and related terms, accommodating the sometimes complex classifications of Speech, Language, and Hearing disorders.
Stuttering by
This new Third Edition provides a comprehensive overview of the etiology and development of stuttering and details appropriate approaches to accurate assessment and treatment. A new chapter on related fluency disorders discusses evaluation and treatment of stuttering associated with neurological disease or trauma, psychological disturbance, or mental retardation, and explains how developmental stuttering can be differentiated from these conditions. This edition also features a new chapter on preliminaries to assessment as well as new information on differential diagnosis of stuttering versus other fluency disorders. Appendices include forms for diagnosis and evaluation.
Language and Communication Disorders in Children by
A comprehensive yet highly readable text containing theory and practical applications, Language and Communication Disorders in Children, Sixth Edition, offers readers a rewarding experience in learning how to provide language intervention to communicatively disordered children. nbsp; The sixth edition of this best-selling introduction to language disorders text has been substantially revised to bring about the most current information in the dynamic areas of speech-language pathology and special education. Itnbsp;keenly focuses on the ways in which children learn language and how to help those who struggle with it, and on the area of language to explain different kinds of developmental disabilities in children. The text has been thoroughly updated, revised, and reorganized providing the most current information about the dynamic areas of speech-language pathology and special education. nbsp; The sixth edition exhibitsnbsp;reorganized and updatednbsp;chapters: Language Impairments in Preschool Populations (Chapter 4); Nature & Scope of Language-Learning Disabilities: Characteristics, Frameworks and Connections (Chapter 5); Making Sense of Language Learning Disabilities: Assessment and Support for Academic Success (Chapter 11); The Changing Role of the SLP (Chapter 9). Key topics include: Applying theories of child development, speech and hearing science, and language development and disorders to the study of children's language and communication disorders; Evidence based assessment strategies, including curriculum-based assessment and response to intervention (RTI), as well as dynamic assessment and integrated intervention; Formal and informal methods of assessment for infants and toddlers; Use of AAC with very young children; Increased emphasis on adolescent language; Discussion of the relationship between oral and written language; "Best Practices" in early language intervention with an emphasis on collaborative and family-centered approaches; and Information on legislative influences on the delivery of services to infants, toddlers, preschool, and school-aged populations.
The Library offers more than 250,000 e-books that can be accessed anytime and from anywhere. Formats and copying & printing rules may vary according to publisher restrictions.To help you learn more about the many e-books we offer check out this guide.
Augmentative and Alternative Communication by
As AAC use continues to flourish and new technology revolutionizes the field, tomorrow's service providers need current, authoritative information on AAC for children and adults with communication disorders. That's why David Beukelman and Pat Mirenda have revised and updated the bestselling Augmentative and Alternative Communication--the trusted, widely adopted graduate-level text on communication disorders and AAC. The foundational textbook for SLPs, OTs, PTs, teachers, and other professionals in clinical and educational settings, this fourth edition is a definitive introduction to AAC processes, interventions, and technologies that help people best meet their daily communication needs. Future professionals will prepare for their work in the field with critical new information on advancing literacy skills (new chapter by Janice Light and David McNaughton) conducting effective, culturally appropriate assessment to determine AAC needs choosing AAC interventions appropriate for age and ability selecting AAC vocabulary tailored to individual needs using new consumer technologies as easy, affordable, and non-stigmatizing communication devices understanding types of symbols and how individuals use them promoting social competence supporting language learning and development providing effective support to beginning communicators planning an inclusive education for students with complex communication needs Readers will get a thorough overview of communication and AAC issues for people with specific developmental disabilities (including cerebral palsy, intellectual disability, and autism) and acquired disabilities (such as aphasia, traumatic brain injury, and degenerative cognitive and linguistic disorders). And with helpful photos, figures, and photocopiable forms, readers will be ready to collect and use important information on assessment, individual communication needs, classroom supports, and more. An essential core text for tomorrow's professionals--and a key reference for inservice practitioners--this new fourth edition expertly prepares readers to support the communicative competence of children and adults with a wide range of complex needs. What's new: New literacy chapter Extensive updates reflecting current consumer technology Helpful end-of-chapter study questions Updated resource sections and glossary All the latest research and best practices in every chapter
Understanding Stammering or Stuttering by
Parents and teachers of children who stammer (or stutter) may see their child suffering with embarrassment, frustration or anxiety but feel at a loss as to how best to help. This book explains the characteristics of stammering and uses illuminating first-hand accounts to demonstrate the common feelings of anguish experienced and provide clarity on what the child is likely to need in terms of support at home, school and in social situations. Packed with helpful advice for carers about how to build a child's confidence, it presents a variety of techniques and tips to alleviate the stammer and improve self-esteem and school performance. This accessible resource will shed light on the perplexing nature of stammers, enabling those who care for children affected to find answers and get the best possible help.
Communication in Autism by
Communication in Autism adopts a multidisciplinary approach to explore one of the most common developmental disorders associated with communication impairment. Perhaps the most fascinating thing about communication in autism is that variation is as extreme as it could possibly be. While some individuals with autism have age-appropriate language, a number have exceptional language skills; others have little or no spoken language. In between these extremes are individuals who experience significant linguistic impairments. These impairments can affect peer relations and literacy skills. The chapters in this volume provide comprehensive coverage of both the theoretical underpinnings and the practical aspects of autistic communication. The result is a volume that showcases the wide range of methodologies being used in this field of research. It is invaluable for scientists, service providers, parents, individuals with autism, and students learning about communication and autism (e.g., in psychology, speech pathology, and education).
Located on Drinko Library's first floor
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders by
A major new reference work with entries covering the entire field of communication and speech disorders. A massive reference work on the scale of MITECS (The MIT Encyclopedia of Cognitive Sciences), The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders will become the standard reference in this field for both research and clinical use. It offers almost 200 detailed entries, covering the entire range of communication and speech disorders in children and adults, from basic science to clinical diagnosis.MITECD is divided into four sections that reflect the standard categories within the field (also known as speech-language pathology and audiology): Voice, Speech, Language, and Hearing. Within each category, entries are organized into three subsections: Basic Science, Disorders, and Clinical Management. Basic Science includes relevant information on normal anatomy and physiology, physics, psychology and psychophysics, and linguistics; this provides a scientific foundation for entries in the other subsections. The entries that appear under Disorders offer information on the definition and characterization of specific disorders, and tools for their identification and assessment. The Clinical Management subsection describes appropriate interventions, including behavioral, pharmacological, surgical, and prosthetic. Because the approach to communication disorders can be quite different for children and adults, many topics include separate entries reflecting this. Although some disorders that are first diagnosed in childhood may persist in some form throughout adulthood, many disorders can have an onset in either childhood or adulthood, and the timing of onset can have many implications for both assessment and intervention. Topics covered in MITECD include cochlear implants for children and adults, pitch perception, tinnitus, alaryngeal voice and speech rehabilitation, neural mechanisms of vocalization, holistic voice therapy techniques, computer-based approaches to children's speech and language disorders, neurogenic mutism, regional dialect, agrammatism, global aphasia, and psychosocial problems associated with communicative disorders.
Terminology of Communication Disorders by
The leading dictionary/sourcebook of terms for speech, language, and hearing pathology, Terminology of Communication Disorders is intended for students in speech, language, and hearing disorders programs, faculty, and practitioners. Terms are listed alphabetically and cross-referenced for synonyms and related terms, accommodating the sometimes complex classifications of Speech, Language, and Hearing disorders.
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders by
A major new reference work with entries covering the entire field of communication and speech disorders. A massive reference work on the scale of MITECS (The MIT Encyclopedia of Cognitive Sciences), The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders will become the standard reference in this field for both research and clinical use. It offers almost 200 detailed entries, covering the entire range of communication and speech disorders in children and adults, from basic science to clinical diagnosis.MITECD is divided into four sections that reflect the standard categories within the field (also known as speech-language pathology and audiology): Voice, Speech, Language, and Hearing. Within each category, entries are organized into three subsections: Basic Science, Disorders, and Clinical Management. Basic Science includes relevant information on normal anatomy and physiology, physics, psychology and psychophysics, and linguistics; this provides a scientific foundation for entries in the other subsections. The entries that appear under Disorders offer information on the definition and characterization of specific disorders, and tools for their identification and assessment. The Clinical Management subsection describes appropriate interventions, including behavioral, pharmacological, surgical, and prosthetic. Because the approach to communication disorders can be quite different for children and adults, many topics include separate entries reflecting this. Although some disorders that are first diagnosed in childhood may persist in some form throughout adulthood, many disorders can have an onset in either childhood or adulthood, and the timing of onset can have many implications for both assessment and intervention. Topics covered in MITECD include cochlear implants for children and adults, pitch perception, tinnitus, alaryngeal voice and speech rehabilitation, neural mechanisms of vocalization, holistic voice therapy techniques, computer-based approaches to children's speech and language disorders, neurogenic mutism, regional dialect, agrammatism, global aphasia, and psychosocial problems associated with communicative disorders.
Neurogenic Communication Disorders by
This text is the result of the author's research devoted to the understanding of the relationship between brain functions and communication, as well as years of teaching-learning and clinical experiences. It begins with a review of core concepts relating to the structures and interrelated functions of the brain. This information serves as the precursor to understanding the possible causes and nature of neurogenic communication disorders and related clinical issues. It also includes options for assessing the prevailing communication disorder and highlights the association between the etiologies and underlying neuropathology to overt communication symptoms; the rationale for their presentation is to foster essential critical thinking skills to derive at differential diagnosis and formulate a prognosis for recovery of the identified symptoms. The text selectively focuses on the description of language and cognitive-communication disorders secondary to brain lesions. It aims to guide students and professionals who diagnose, explain, and implement rehabilitation strategies for individuals with acquired neurogenic communication disorders. This objective is reflected in its elaboration of disrupted decoding and encoding of linguistic units such as symbols (words) representing semantics and morphology (meaningful units), and the rules (syntax and pragmatics) for using them during communication. The interconnectivity between language and cognition is stressed through establishing the influence of perceptual and cognitive functions on language/communication modalities of comprehension and production. Contributions from the fields of neuro- and psycholinguistics have been incorporated to help characterize and distinguish disorders such as aphasia, dementia, as well as traumatic brain injury and nondominant (right) hemisphere lesions. The text ends with the offering of diverse management and treatment options that strive to either restore or st
Therapeutic Processes for Communication Disorders: A Guide for Clinicians and Students by
Why do many people with disorders of communication experience a sense of demoralization? Do these subjective experiences have any bearing on how such problems should be treated? How can professionals dealing with speech, language, hearing and other communication disorders analyse and respond to the subjective and relational needs of clients with such problems? In this book, authors in the fields of communication disorders analyse the psychological, social and linguistic processes and interactions that underpin clinical practice, from both client and clinician perspectives. The chapters demonstrate how it is possible to analyze and understand client-clinician discourse using qualitative research, and describe various challenges to establishing relationships such as cultural, gender and age differences. The authors go on to describe self-care processes, the therapeutic use of the self, and various psychological factors that could be important for developing therapeutic relationships. Also covered are the rarely considered topics of spirituality and transpersonal issues, which may at times be relevant to clinicians working with clients who have debilitating, degenerative and terminal illnesses associated with certain communication disorders. While this book is geared toward the needs of practicing and training speech, language and hearing clinicians, other professional such as teachers of the deaf, psychotherapists, nurses, and occupational therapists will find the ideas relevant, interesting and easily translatable for use in their own clinical practice.
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children: Resources and Protocols, Fourth Edition by
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children: Resources and Protocols, Fourth Edition offers a unique combination of scholarly information, invaluable resources, and time-saving protocols on assessment of the full range of communication disorders in children, including nonverbal or minimally verbal children. Most resource books offer limited research and scholarly information, thus making them unsuitable as textbooks for academic courses on assessment and diagnosis. Similarly, most traditional textbooks do not include practical, easy-to-use, and time-saving resources and protocols that the practicing clinicians can readily use during assessment sessions. By combining the strengths of traditional texts with newer assessment resources and protocols, this one-of-a-kind book offers a single, comprehensive source that is suitable as a textbook and useful as a practical clinical resource.This bestselling and trusted text: Includes an extensive discussion of issues in using standardized tests along with detailed information on psychometric principles and offers a detailed discussion of alternative assessment approaches that minimize the problems inherent to standardized testsDescribes a new, comprehensive, and integrated assessment approach that derives its strengths from the traditional as well as several alternative approachesAddresses the multicultural issues in assessing communication disorders in children and integrates culturally responsive assessment procedures into the assessment protocols Contains two chapters for each disorder: one on resources that offers scholarly and research background and one on resources that describe practical procedures and protocols that save the clinician's preparation time Includes access to a PluralPlus companion website which allows clinicians to view, modify, and print the assessment protocols for their personal useNew to the Fourth Edition: Lecture slides for instructors on the PluralPlus companion websiteA new section on the assessment of voice in transgender and gender diverse adolescentsA new section on selective mutism in bilingual children, included in alternative and integrated assessment of ethnoculturally diverse childrenAll normative tables placed in relevant chapter appendices for quick access The content has been updated throughout to reflect the current state of researchUpdated diagnostic features of all childhood communication disordersAll protocols streamlined and edited for precision (in book and on website)Updated resources for commonly used assessment instruments and standardized tests, now available on the companion websiteAll defined and key terms are now bolded Simplified writing style and reduced redundancy for increased readability and comprehension
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Adults: Resources and Protocols, Third Edition by
"Assessment of Communication Disorders in Adults: Resources and Protocols, Third Edition offers a unique combination of scholarly information, invaluable resources, and time-saving protocols on assessment of communication disorders in adults. Most resource books offer limited research and scholarly information, thus making them unsuitable as textbooks for academic courses on assessment and diagnosis. Similarly, most traditional textbooks do not include practical, easy-to-use, and time-saving resources and protocols that the practicing clinicians can readily use during assessment sessions. By combining the strengths of traditional textbooks with newer assessment resources and protocols, this one-of-a-kind book offers a single, comprehensive source that is suitable as a textbook and useful as a practical clinical resource"--
