Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Using Marshall University Archives and Special Collections: Teaching With Our Collections

This guide provides an introduction to conducting research and using materials at Marshall University Archives and Special Collections.

Teaching With Us

Integrating instruction on primary source and archives literacy into your class can help teach students critical information literacy and analytical skills. With collections focusing on coal, book history, women's history, genealogy, Huntington, mental health, and so much more, there is sure to be a collection that will be compelling to your students.

The archivists in Special Collections can work with you to tailor an instruction session to fit your unique assignment, or simply take a back seat and provide access to the materials while you discuss them in class. Archivists are knowledgeable on material culture, archives theory, collection practices, primary source research, and more.

Instruction

Archivists at Special Collections are happy to work with you to create instruction sessions tailored to your subject, offer tours and hands-on introductions to Special Collections materials, or facilitate assignments or larger projects using Special Collections materials. We are flexible and happy to teach in our spaces or come to your classroom. However, for Fall 2020 we are teaching using virtual formats only.

Previous projects include: 

  • Embedding an archivist into a history methods course to teach about primary source research and material culture
  • Working with a documentary filmmaking class to reuse clips of broadcast footage from a local news station's archive
  • Providing professional development opportunities to teachers regarding teaching with primary sources
  • Teaching classes about how to use archives and conduct research

Interested in having an archivist teach about any of these topics in your course? You can request instruction using the virtual instruction request form and selecting "Special Collections and Archives or Government Documents Research."

Interested in incorporating Special Collections into your course beyond a one-shot session? Contact us at speccoll@marshall.edu and see how we can assist in meeting your course goals. 

Teaching Resources

This section is in development and will be updated with teaching resources as they are created. 

This section is in development and will be updated with teaching resources as they are created. 

This section is in development and will be updated with teaching resources as they are created. 

Archivist and Digital Preservation Librarian

Elizabeth James's picture
Elizabeth James
Contact:
Marshall University Special Collections
Morrow Library 211
304-696-3524
jamese@marshall.edu