Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian HoursLibrary CatalogArticle Databases RESEARCH SERVICESHELPINFORMATION FOR...

Using Marshall University Archives and Special Collections: Using Our Collections

This guide provides an introduction to conducting research and using materials at Marshall University Archives and Special Collections.

Using Our Collections

Once you have searched our collections and found materials that you are interested in using, it's time to give Special Collections a visit!

Special Collections is home to unique or rare materials that may exist in no other place outside of Marshall. With this in mind, we request that you: 

  • Not eat or drink while using collection materials
  • Only use pencils 
  • Treat materials with care
  • Enjoy exploring our resources--we love to talk about all things archives!

Requesting Material

After you've searched for and found a collection you would like to use, you can request a collection by sending us an email at speccoll@marshall.edu. Be sure to list all non-circulating books, archives, and manuscript materials you would like to consult during your visit as well as an anticipated date and time to allow for prompt service.

Having trouble finding materials relevant to your topic or have other questions? Ask us! There is always somebody ready to help you at the Special Collections reference desk. You can also reach us via email at speccoll@marshall.edu or by phone at (304) 696-2343.

Requesting Instruction

Interested in having an archivist teach in your course? You can request instruction using the virtual instruction request form and selecting "Special Collections and Archives or Government Documents Research."

Interested in incorporating Special Collections into your course beyond a one-shot instruction session? Contact us at speccoll@marshall.edu and see how we can assist in meeting your course goals. 

Archivist and Digital Preservation Librarian

Profile Photo
Lori Thompson
Contact:
Special Collections Department
James E. Morrow Library Rm 211


thompson39@marshall.edu
304-696-6611
Website
Subjects: History