LibGuides: Open Educational Resources: Finding OERs

Criteria for Evaluating OER

Ask yourself the following questions when selecting OERs to adopt or adapt for courses:

Is information accurate?
Is information current & relevant?
Does information demonstrate cultural awareness and sensitivity?
How's the production quality?
Is the resource easy to use?
Does the resource meet accessibility standards?
Does the resource have an open license?

Evaluating OER

Open Textbook Search Engines and Repositories

Open Textbook Library The best place to start. Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
LibreTexts The LibreTexts searches at the title, chapter and section levels. The library offers editing and remixing software so faculty may generate a customized textbook from multiple sources. Links to chapters and chapter sections are provided, which is handy if you only want your students to access a portion of a textbook for any given assignment.
MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching)
IntechOpen For Books and Chapters, IntechOpen’s Academic Editors and Authors are members of our growing scientific community focused on quality, peer-reviewed research and expeditious spreading of knowledge. Our community comprises of senior members of the international academic and scientific community across all fields of science, whose merits include Nobel Laureates and the world's top 1% most cited authors.

OASIS OER https://oasis.geneseo.edu/index.phpMetaFinder

Mason OER Metafinder Includes Open Textbooks, Open Books, open articles, and other types of information. As a result, it is not the most efficient way to search for only Open Textbooks. The OER Metafinder performs a simultaneous search across 21 different sources of open educational materials. We’re searching well-known OER repositories like OpenStax, OER Commons, MERLOT but also sites like HathiTrust, DPLA, Internet Archive and NYPL Digital Collections where valuable but often overlooked open educational materials may be found.
Google Advanced Search
Filter searches by usage rights. Select Free to use share or modify

BCcampus OpenEd The textbooks are created (or, where possible, re-created from existing open educational resources) by BC post-secondary faculty, reviewed by B.C. faculty and made available under a Creative Commons license.
California Open Online Library for Education (COOL4Ed) The three State of California Higher Education Systems are working together to provide you easy access to quality FREE and OPEN eTextbooks that everyone and anyone can use for teaching and learning (Learn more about how and why we're doing this)
Open Educational Resources Commons Create OERs for your courses here. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
Open Michigan Open Michigan enables the University of Michigan community to make the products of its research, teaching, and creative work available to the world beyond campus. We are the home for all things open at the University of Michigan—including expertise and services for open educational resources, open data, and open publications.
OpenStax The original open textbook repository created by Rice University
OpenALG Affordable Learning Georgia

Bozeman Science Series of videos on basic concepts in biology, chemistry, earth science, physics, and statistics.
Khan Academy Khan Academy provides top-quality educational videos that are organized by discipline and skill levels. They provide videos from various disciplines including Math, Science, Economics, Finance, and Humanities.
Learn Out Loud The LearnOutLoud.com Free Audio & Video Directory offers a selection of over 10,000 free educational audio and video titles. Our directory features free audio books, courses, documentaries, talks, interviews, speeches, and many other great free audio and video resources. We've scoured the Internet in order to bring you the best audio & video downloads and streaming audio & video titles that you can learn from.
Math Open Reference Interactive tools and animations illustrating basic concepts in mathematics.
Moving Image Archive Animations, movies, and videos to download or stream. Resources are available about various topics. This portion of the website is from The Internet Archive.
PBS Learning Media Mostly for the K-12 classroom, WVPB and PBS have curated FREE, standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more for teachers like you.
TedTalks TED provides over 1700 inspiring talks. Past presenters include Bill Clinton, Jane Goodall, Malcolm Gladwell, Al Gore, Gordon Brown, Richard Dawkins, Bill Gates, Bono, Google founders Larry Page and Sergey Brin, and many Nobel Prize winners.
Vimeo Like YouTube, Vimeo hosts millions of Creative Commons-licensed videos. In addition, Vimeo provides a separate Creative Commons licensed video collection which makes the filtering process much easier.
Webcast Berkeley Open video and audio lectures from the University of California Berkeley
World Lecture Project Consists of a video library for collecting academic videos from around the globe and from all faculties; Also a learning platform allowing professors and teachers to create courses with videos, and students to study online.
YouTube YouTube provides millions of Creative Commons-licensed videos (among their billions of video collections). The key is filtering them to isolate the Creative Commons-licensed ones.

Skills Common
SOL*R (Shareable Online Learning Resources)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology Open Courseware Through OCW, educators improve courses and curricula, making their schools more effective; students find additional resources to help them succeed; and independent learners enrich their lives and use the content to tackle some of our world’s most difficult challenges, including sustainable development, climate change, and cancer eradication.
Academic Earth Free college courses and material
Carnegie Mellon University Open Learning Initiative A small fee is assessed for online classes, including self-paced classes without an instructor.
Open Education Consortium
Lumen Learning

Open Access Book Search Engines and Repositories

JSTOR Open Access Books
Over 7,000 open access scholarly books are in this collection.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)