LibGuides: Digital Humanities: DH 201

Google

Google Dataset Search
This is in the beta phase

Recommended Texts and Materials

Schreibman, Susan, et al., editors. A Companion to Digital Humanities. Blackwell Publishing, 2004

Defining Digital Humanities by Melissa Terras, Julianne Nyhan, Edward Vanhoutte.
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781409469636
Publication Date: 2013
Digital_Humanities by Anne Burdick; Johanna Drucker; Peter Lunenfeld; Todd Presner; Jeffrey Schnapp
ISBN: 9780262312103
Publication Date: 2012-11-16
A visionary report on the revitalization of the liberal arts tradition in the electronically inflected, design-driven, multimedia language of the twenty-first century. Digital_Humanities is a compact, game-changing report on the state of contemporary knowledge production. Answering the question "What is digital humanities?," it provides an in-depth examination of an emerging field. This collaboratively authored and visually compelling volume explores methodologies and techniques unfamiliar to traditional modes of humanistic inquiry--including geospatial analysis, data mining, corpus linguistics, visualization, and simulation--to show their relevance for contemporary culture. Written by five leading practitioner-theorists whose varied backgrounds embody the intellectual and creative diversity of the field, Digital_Humanities is a vision statement for the future, an invitation to engage, and a critical tool for understanding the shape of new scholarship.
Defining Digital Humanities by Melissa Terras; Julianne Nyhan; Edward Vanhoutte
ISBN: 9781409469643
Publication Date: 2013-12-23
This reader brings together the essential readings that have emerged in Digital Humanities. It provides a historical overview of how the term OCyHumanities ComputingOCO developed into the term OCyDigital HumanitiesOCO, and highlights core readings which explore the meaning, scope, and implementation of the field. To contextualize and frame each included reading, the editors and authors provide a commentary on the original piece. There is also an annotated bibliography of other material not included in the text to provide an essential list of reading in the discipline."

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning

Resources

CoWorks Podcasting Studio
Local podcaster Justin McElroy has set up a podcasting studio at CoWorks, a co-working space at 1005 Fifth Ave. in Huntington. The CoWorks space will be available for rent for $20 for up to four hours a month to record. For those who sign extended monthly contracts to develop their podcast, McElroy will also give consultation on best practices for recording, editing, distributing and, eventually if podcasts become successful, monetizing it.
Frametrail
FrameTrail is an open source software that let’s you experience, manage and edit interactive video directly in your web browser. It enables you to hyperlink filmic contents, include additional multimedia documents (e.g. text overlays, images or interactive maps) and to add supplementing materials (annotations) at specific points.
Artist in the Archive
Join the Library of Congress’s Innovator-in-Residence Jer Thorp as he explores the 165 million items in the library’s collection and speaks with the librarians, archivist and technologists who try to make sense of it all.
Clio
Clio is your guide to the history around you. We have 29,015 historical entries from all across the country. 290 new entries have been added and 632 entries have been improved in the last 30 days. What will you discover about your city, town or neighborhood?
Digital Humanities Summer Institute: A Place for Digital Scholarship
The Digital Humanities Summer Institute provides an ideal environment for discussing and learning about new computing technologies and how they are influencing teaching, research, dissemination, creation, and preservation in different disciplines, via a community-based approach.
Twine
Twine is an open-source tool for telling interactive, nonlinear stories. You don't need to write any code to create a simple story with Twine, but you can extend your stories with variables, conditional logic, images, CSS, and JavaScript when you're ready. Twine publishes directly to HTML, so you can post your work nearly anywhere. Anything you create with it is completely free to use any way you like, including for commercial purposes.

Frequently asked questions

Which library resource is the best?

We wish there was an easy answer to this, but all the different topics in all the different classes in all the different departments makes this an unknowable thing.

How do I know which database to use?

The first step is to narrow the All Databases list from all of them to a subject-specific database (use the "All Subjects" drop-down menu near the top, on the left side). Then, carefully read the descriptions for each one. If you're still unsure, Ask a Librarian.

Where is the Writing Center?

The Writing Center is located on the 2nd floor of Drinko Library.

Where can I go to ask for help?

The best place to ask for help is the front desk on the 1st floor of Drinko Library, right inside the main entrance. Or, you can contact us for help using one of the methods on our Ask a Librarian page.

Are the databases a credible source?

The databases that the library provides access to are considered the best places to go for research, and if you choose "Scholarly" or "Peer-reviewed" as an option to narrow your search, then you're good to go. Of course, some of our databases include resources that have not gone through a vetting process (for example: the database Alternative Press Index might have an article from a radical periodical that shows bias rather than all sides of an issue.). So, the best practice is to evaluate ANY and ALL sources that are not marked as "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" using our Evaluating Sources page. Then, if you're still unsure, you can Ask a Librarian for help.

What if I can't find what I need or what I'm looking for?

We know it can be overwhelming to use the library databases, especially if you've never used anything like them before. The thing to remember is that the research process can be very difficult and complex, and that doesn't mean you're doing anything wrong. Librarians have degrees that allow us to assist you in your research, and that's why we're here: to help you. So, please Ask a Librarian for help when you get stuck.

What is Adobe Spark and how do I use it?

New to Adobe Spark? Check out https://www.marshall.edu/it/linkedin-learning/ for tutorials on how to use it!