Databases - CMM 308 - Persuasive Communication - LibGuides at Marshall University

Summon Search

Search MU Libraries' collection for print and online books, articles and more with this web discovery tool.

What is a...?

Scholarly journal "A scholarly journal is different from a magazine or other periodical because it’s a respected forum in which scholars share their research. The articles in journals are usually peer-reviewed, and can be taken as legitimate scholarly knowledge."
Peer-reviewed journal "Peer Review is a process that journals use to ensure the articles they publish represent the best scholarship currently available. When an article is submitted to a peer-reviewed journal, the editors send it out to other scholars in the same field (the author's peers) to get their opinion on the quality of the scholarship, its relevance to the field, its appropriateness for the journal, etc."
Research article Research articles are most often published in scholarly journals and usually contain: •a summary or “abstract” •a description of the research •the results they got •the significance of the results.
Review article (Sometimes called "Research Review" articles) "are an attempt by one or more writers to sum up the current state of the research on a particular topic...[they] are virtual gold mines if you want to find out what the key articles are for a given topic."
Primary source Original research or materials that have not been filtered through interpretation or evaluation by a secondary party.
Secondary source Sources that contain commentary on or a discussion about a primary source. Analyzes and interprets research results or scientific discoveries.

Source material courtesy of the University of Texas Libraries .

Evaluating Popular & Scholarly Articles

Not sure if you have a "popular" or a "scholarly" source? Or maybe just need a refresher? MU Libraries Evaluating Sources can help. Here you will find the basic differences between popular and scholarly articles reviewed.

Recommended Databases

These subscription databases provided by the Marshall University Libraries offer examples of speeches as well as articles from magazines, newspapers, journals, and more to support your speech topic.To access them off campus, enter your Marshall University username and password when prompted.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Now offering more than 800 highly regarded reference titles from over 80 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject and also provides Topic Pages as a starting point for researchers.
Nexis Uni™ This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Nexis Uni™ has an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center (Ebsco) is an interface intended for public, academic, and high school libraries. Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications. The Points of View Debate Blog is a forum for students to express and exchange their unique views on topics in the news.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistical database that draws more that 1 million statistics from over 18,000 sources. Dossiers, reports, and infographics are included. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

All MU Libraries Databases
This is a list from A - Z of all databases that Marshall University currently subscribes.

CMM 308 - Persuasive Communication: Databases

Summon Search

What is a...?

Evaluating Popular & Scholarly Articles

Recommended Databases