LibGuides: Primary Sources on the Web: Individual States

United States

Alabama Department of Archives and History
Genealogists, researchers, teachers and students can find databases, newspaper clippings, and more at this site on a wide variety of topics pertaining to Alabama’s past.
Alabama Mosaic
Repository of digital materials on Alabama’s history, culture, places, and people pulled from a variety of resources in Alabama.
Auburn University Special Collections & Archives
Special Collections & Archives collects, preserves, makes available, and publicizes institutional records, personal manuscripts, photographs, rare books, and selected artifacts in support of the research, teaching, and outreach missions of Auburn University.
Birmingham Public Library
BPL's Digital Collections were created to preserve and make available the local history of Birmingham and the surrounding area. These resources may help students, teachers, genealogists, historians and interested citizens learn more about the history of Birmingham.
Library of Congress Resources for Alabama
The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. The list below is just a sample of the many Alabama resources available for free on the Library's Web site
University of Alabama Division of Special Collections
The mission of the Division of Special Collections is to acquire, preserve, and make available permanent collections of rare and unique research resources for the use of faculty, graduate, and undergraduate students of the University of Alabama, as well as others.
University of North Alabama
The UNA Libraries have created a number of digital projects to preserve and provide access to unique collections. Both researchers and casually curious exploring the digital collections will find items from the Shoals area past of both historical and cultural significance. Development continues on these collections and others through the University of North Alabama Archives.

Alaska's Digital Archives
Alaska’s Digital Archives purpose is to provide a single easy to use location for institutions across this state to share their historical resources.Our goal is to support the instructional and research needs of Alaskans and others interested in Alaska history and culture.
Alaska State Library
The majority of the collection is not available digitally. Visit Alaska's Digital Archives to view items available for download. If you find an image here that is not offered digitally, contact the Historical Collections for more information.
Library of Congress Resources for Alaska
The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. The list below is just a sample of the many Alaska resources available for free on the Library's Web site
Oral History Program Project Jukebox - University of Alaska Fairbanks
Project Jukebox is the digital branch of the Oral History Program and provides access to audio and video recordings, transcripts, maps, historic photographs and films from across Alaska

Arizona Historical Society Natural History Collection
View photographed natural history specimens.
Arizona Memory Project
The Arizona Memory Project provides access to the wealth of primary sources in Arizona libraries, archives, museums and other cultural institutions. Visitors to the site will find some of the best examples of government documents, photographs, maps, and objects that chronicle Arizona's past and present.
Arizona State Library, Archives & Public Records
We are organizing and leveraging the collective expertise of our staff to better serve citizens, small businesses, and public bodies in a digital world. Our mission remains the same: to help Arizonans know and obtain information about their government, their state, and their world.
Library of Congress Resources for Arizona
The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. The list below is just a sample of the many Arizona resources available for free on the Library's Web site
Northern Arizona University Special Collections & Archives
Cline Library provides a rich array of archival and published material which documents the history and development of the Colorado Plateau in a variety of disciplines, as well as that of Northern Arizona University (NAU). Increasingly, the library has created or selected a variety of useful online newspaper resources to assist researchers with first-hand accounts of the people, events, and places on the Colorado Plateau and NAU.
The University of Arizona Special Collections
pecial Collections serves the University of Arizona Libraries as the holder of primary research materials chiefly in the fields of Literature, Arizona and Southwestern History, and the Sciences. Gathered here too are important and substantial collections relating to the lands and peoples of Arizona, New Mexico and Sonora, Mexico.

Archives History Commission
One of the oldest existing state agencies, the Arkansas History Commission was created by the General Assembly in 1905, to be the official archives of the state, responsible for collecting and preserving the source materials of the history of Arkansas.
Arkansas Records Catalog
he Arkansas Records Catalog provides quick and easy access to detailed descriptions of primary source materials maintained by archives, special collections, libraries, historical societies, and museums across the state, bringing together collection guides from many of Arkansas’s repositories to help you to locate historical documents and learn where you can gain access to the physical records you seek.
Arkansas Studies Institute
Welcome to the Arkansas Studies Institute and the ASI Research Portal. The ASI is the state’s largest facility dedicated to the study of Arkansas history and culture. Our catalog search gives you access to the entire contents of the ASI, including holdings of the Butler Center for Arkansas Studies and the UALR Center for Arkansas History & Culture.
Library of Congress Resources for Arkansas
The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. The list below is just a sample of the many Arkansas resources available for free on the Library's Web site.
University of Arkansas Special Collections
An important function of Special Collections is to support research and writing in Arkansas studies. In addition to manuscript collections, there is a comprehensive Arkansas Collection of print materials, cataloged in InfoLinks with the location code ARK COLL.

California State University Northridge Digital Collections
The Oviatt Library Digital Collections feature historically significant documents, photographs, oral histories, artistic works and exhibit materials selected from the Oviatt Special Collections and Archives. Additional project contributors include local heritage organizations, neighboring academic institutions and private collectors. The breadth of these collections is focused in the area of Southern California history with emphasis on the San Fernando Valley. Exceptions include legal records of slavery and freedom, Civil War documents, as well as collections featuring digital reproductions of Chinese antiquities, and photographs from our Old China Hands Archives that document the experiences of foreign residents of China in 1946.
Early California Population Project
The Early California Population Project (ECPP), a database developed by the Huntington Library, provides public access to all the information contained in the California mission registers from 1769 - 1850. Within the baptism, marriage, and burial records of each of the California missions sits an extraordinary wealth of unique information on the Indians, soldiers, and settlers of Alta California.
Library of Congress Resources for California
The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. The list below is just a sample of the many California resources available for free on the Library's Web site.
Los Angeles Public Library Photo Collection
The Los Angeles Public Library Photo Collection emphasizes the history of Los Angeles, Southern California, and California. This Internet-accessible collection is one of the treasures of the Central Library.
Online Archive of California
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Regional Oral History Office
The Regional Oral History Office (ROHO), a division of The Bancroft Library, documents the history of California, the nation, and the interconnected global arena. ROHO produces carefully researched, audio/video-recorded and transcribed oral histories and interpretative historical materials for the widest possible use.
University of California
Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history. Calisphere's content has been selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses, and from a variety of cultural heritage organizations across California.
University of Southern California Digital Library
he California Historical Society Collection is incomparable for the documentary picture it provides of the growth of Southern California, particularly the development of the Los Angeles region, between 1860 and 1960. The collection contains more than 25,000 photographs. The full archive was placed on long-term deposit at USC in 1990 and includes the Title Insurance and Trust Company Collection, also known as TICOR, and the Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce Collection.
Web de Anza: An Interactive Study Environment on Spanish Exploration and Colonization of "Alta California" 1774-1776
Web de Anza provides students and scholars with primary source documents and multimedia resources covering Juan Bautista de Anza's two overland expeditions from the Sonoran desert to northern California, leading to the colonization of San Francisco in 1776.

Colorado Plateau - Provided by Northern Arizona University Special Collections
Cline Library provides a rich array of archival and published material which documents the history and development of the Colorado Plateau in a variety of disciplines, as well as that of Northern Arizona University (NAU). Increasingly, the library has created or selected a variety of useful online newspaper resources to assist researchers with first-hand accounts of the people, events, and places on the Colorado Plateau and NAU.
Colorado State Archives
The State of Colorado’s Department of Personnel & Administration (DPA) provides centralized human resources, information, tools, resources and materials needed for the State of Colorado government to function. The Department provides the infrastructure by which the rest of State government operates. The programs and services provided by DPA are vitally important to the efficient and effective operation of State government.
Colorado Virtual Library
The mission of the Colorado State Library is to help develop libraries and deliver information services throughout Colorado. The Colorado Virtual Library helps connect Coloradans to their libraries, and to online resources across the state. In addition to the Library Directory, we will be highlighting collections of interest to a wide selection of Colorado’s citizens.
Denver Public Library Digital Collections
This online collection contains a selection of photographs, maps, broadsides, architectural drawings and other documents from the collections of the Western History/Genealogy Department chronicling the people, places, and events that shaped the settlement and growth of the Western United States. The work of many outstanding photographers is represented and the collection includes images of Native Americans, pioneers, railroads, mining, Denver and Colorado towns, Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show, the 10th Mountain Division ski troops and many more. New images are continually being added chronicling the ongoing development of Western America.
Fort Collins History Connection
The Fort Collins History Connection is an online collaboration between the Fort Collins Museum of Discovery and the Poudre River Public Library District, incorporating historical resources from the Library, the Archive, and the Museum artifact collection.
Library of Congress Resources for Colorado
The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. The list below is just a sample of the many Colorado resources available for free on the Library's Web site

Connecticut State Library Digital Collections
Digital collections feature materials from the State Library, the Museum of Connecticut History, and the Connecticut State Archives.
Connecticut History.org
Welcome to ConnecticutHistory.org, a project of Connecticut Humanities and your home for stories about the people, traditions, innovations, and events that make up the rich history of the Nutmeg State. In keeping with the internet’s dynamic nature and our evolving understanding of the past, ConnecticutHistory.org brings you new content and connections each and every week. - See more at: http://connecticuthistory.org/about/#sthash.vru8k960.dpuf
Connecticut History Illustrated
Connecticut History Illustrated brings together the Connecticut history-related digital resources of libraries, archives, museums, galleries, historical societies and other cultural heritage institutions in Connecticut. It contains material as varied as the history of the state, from documents to images, from maps to audio and video covering the entire spectrum of work, play, and life in Connecticut.
University of Connecticut Archives & Special Collections
This repository contains materials from the collections in Archives & Special Collections, making available for research and study a wide range of collections--from the official records of the University of Connecticut to records and papers of Connecticut leaders and businesses to specialized rare book and non-print collections. Many of the manuscript and monograph collections in Archives & Special Collections have a strong Connecticut and New England regional focus.
Library of Congress Resources for Connecticut
The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. The list below is just a sample of the many Connecticut resources available for free on the Library's Web site.
Yale University Manuscripts & Archives Digital Images Database
The Manuscripts and Archives Digital Images Database (MADID) contains digital reproductions of photographs, posters, drawings, text documents, and other images taken from the research collections of Manuscripts and Archives, Yale University Library. These images comprise only a small percentage of the department's holdings, being those requested by departmental patrons over the past several years.

Delaware Heritage Collections
Documents, artwork, maps, newspapers, slides, photos, audio/video and other important items documenting Delaware’s rich history and culture can now be explored online! Through the Delaware Heritage Collection, items previously available only in local libraries, archives, museums, historic sites and other cultural institutions are being digitized and made available to anyone who has access to a computer.
Delaware Public Archives - Digital Archives
The Delaware Public Archives is one of the oldest public archives programs in the country. The Archives holds more than 95,000 cubic feet of government records and historical documents. Some of which are available online.
Library of Congress Resources for Delaware
The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. The list below is just a sample of the many Delaware resources available for free on the Library's Web site.
University of Delaware
Online exhibits curated by the University of Delaware Special Collections department.

Central Florida Memory
Central Florida Memory is a unique digital collection of material contributed by partner institutions to create a virtual place where visitors can discover what Central Florida was like before theme parks and the space program. Diaries and letters describe the region and how people survived day-by-day in this extreme and rugged environment. Maps, photographs, and postcards illustrate how the region looked in the early years and how it changed over time.
Florida Association of Museums
Links to all museums in the state of Florida.
Florida Atlantic University Special Collections
Florida Atlantic University Libraries house several unique collections of artists' books, sound recordings, print music, rare books and manuscripts, and University archives. Items located in the Special Collections Department are carefully protected from damage due to aging or overuse while maximizing patron access. These collections provide the foundation for cultural and educational programming for students, faculty and the local community through lectures and exhibitions, musical performances, instructional workshops, online resources and research assistance.
Florida International University Archives Digital Collections
Select images from the university archives, campus publications, audio and video, historical documents, thesis and dissertations.
Florida International University Special Collections Digital Collections
The mission of Special Collections is to acquire, arrange, describe, preserve and provide access to rare, unique and out of print of materials and interdisciplinary collections pertaining to the geographic, national and cultural regions of Latin America, the Caribbean, Miami and Florida to augment the research needs of patrons from the University and the wider community.
Florida Memory - State Library & Archives of Florida
Florida Memory is a digital outreach program providing free online access to select archival resources from collections housed in the State Library and Archives of Florida. Florida Memory digitizes materials that illuminate the state's history and culture.
Florida State University's Digital Library
The Florida State University Digital Library provides online access to thousands of unique manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, rare books, historic maps and other materials from across the FSU campus libraries and beyond.
Library of Congress Resources for Florida
The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. The list below is just a sample of the many Florida resources available for free on the Library's Web site.
University of Central Florida Special Collections Digital Collections
Through extensive collaboration with internal and external partners, the digital collections team seeks to create collections of born digital and retrospectively digitized materials unique to the Central Florida community. We invite you to explore our collections by clicking on the titles below.
University of Florida Digital Collections
The University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC) hosts more than 300 outstanding digital collections, containing over 11 million pages, covering over 78 thousand subjects in rare books, manuscripts, antique maps, children's literature, newspapers, theses and dissertations, data sets, photographs, oral histories, and more for permanent access and preservation. Through UFDC, users have free and Open Access to full unique and rare materials held by the University of Florida and partner institutions.
University of Florida Digital Newspaper Library
The Florida Digital Newspaper Library exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida. All of the over 2 million pages of historic through current Florida newspapers in the Florida Digital Newspaper Library are openly and freely available with zoomable page images and full text.
more...less...
Includes Digital Military Newspaper Library, Ethnic Newspapers from Florida, Historic news accounts of Florida, Florida Jewish Newspapers, Florida and Puerto Rico Newspaper project
University of Miami Digital Collections
The University of Miami Digital Collections provide online access to primary source materials to support teaching, learning, and research at the University and worldwide. The Digital Collections feature unique items from the University of Miami Libraries, including the Cuban Heritage Collection, Special Collections, and the University Archives, as well as distinctive collections developed in collaboration with non-library partners.
University of South Florida Special Collection's Digital Collections
Digital collections created from a physical collection owned by the USF Libraries, primarily from the Tampa Library Special Collections Department
Digital collections created from physical collections owned by USF Libraries' partners
Digital collections that were purchased and are hosted locally
Digital collections for which USF Libraries purchased subscription access (fee based, network affiliation, or freely available)

Civil Rights Digital Library
The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia connects users to a million digital objects in more than 200 collections from 60 institutions and 100 government agencies. Though this represents only a fraction of Georgia's cultural treasures, the Digital Library of Georgia continues to grow through its partnerships with libraries, archives, museums, government agencies, and allied organizations across the state.
Georgia Archives Virtual Vault
This is your portal to some of Georgia's most important historical documents, from 1733 to the present. The Virtual Vault provides virtual access to historic Georgia manuscripts, photographs, maps, and government records housed in the state archives.
Georgia Historical Society Digital Images
The Georgia Historical Society Research Center preserves and makes accessible an unparalleled collection of Georgia history, including more than 4 million manuscripts, 100,000 photographs, 30,000 architectural drawings, 15,000 rare and non-rare books, and thousands of maps, portraits, and artifacts. Use these tools to search the Georgia Historical Society collections.Search the Digital Image Catalog for digital images of artifacts, photographs, prints, and other materials. Note: Not all materials are digitized.
Georgia Southern University Special Collections
Henderson Library's Digital Special Collections: highlights of a varied and valuable collection of research materials detailing the history of the Statesboro, Georgia area and Georgia Southern University.
Georgia State University Special Collection's Digital Collections
Georgia State University's interdisciplinary, multimedia digital collections support the research and instructional needs of the GSU community. These collections provide centralized access to GSU's diverse inventory of legacy and teaching collections for purposes of instruction, scholarship, and archival preservation.
Kennesaw State University Archives Scholarly Online Access Repository (SOAR)
he Scholarly Online Access Repository (SOAR) is a resource provided by the Kennesaw State University Archives that supports the research, scholarship, and creative activities of the students, faculty, administration, and staff of the university, as well as members of the northwest Georgia community.
Library of Congress Resources for Georgia
The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. The list below is just a sample of the many Georgia resources available for free on the Library's Web site.
Vanishing Georgia
Vanishing Georgia comprises nearly 18,000 photographs. Ranging from daguerreotypes to Kodachrome prints, the images span over 100 years of Georgia history. The broad subject matter of these photographs, shot by both amateurs and professionals, includes, but is not limited to, family and business life, street scenes and architecture, agriculture, school and civic activities, important individuals and events in Georgia history, and landscapes.

Hawaiian Historical Society Historical Photograph Collection
This site contains data records for the images in the historical photographs collections of the Hawaiian Historical Society and includes digitized copies of selected images. Please note that only a small portion of the collection has been digitized. The photographs date from the 1860s to the modern period, with the majority being from the 1880s through the 1920s. There are also several small special collections by single photographers, historical postcards, and photograph albums from the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Hawaii State Archives Photograph Collection
Is a small cross-section of images held by Hawaii State Archives. As a publicly supported institution Hawaii State Archives does not charge permission fees for use of images and cannot give or deny permission to publish or otherwise distribute images in its collections. It is the user’s obligation to determine and satisfy copyright or other use restrictions when publishing or otherwise distributing materials found in the Archives’ collections.
Hawaii Statehood from the National Archives
Located in the historical records of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate at the Center for Legislative Archives are many documents that illustrate the important role of Congress in the statehood process. Here is a small sampling of the many congressional records that highlight Hawaii's long path to statehood. On August 21, 1959 Hawaii became the 50th state and celebrates its 50th anniversary this year.
The Hawaii War Records Depository
The Hawaii War Records Depository (HWRD), which was established at the University of Hawaii Library in 1943, is an extensive collection of materials that document life in Hawaii during World War II.
Ka Huli Ao Digital Archives
Ka Huli Ao focuses on education, research and scholarship, community outreach, and the preservation of invaluable historical, legal, and traditional and customary materials. We also offer new courses and support Native Hawaiian and other law students as they pursue legal careers and leadership roles. Ka Huli Ao Digital Archives is dedicated to the collection and dissemination of digitized documents of legal, historic and cultural significance for Hawai‘i.
Library of Congress Resources for Hawaii
The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. The list below is just a sample of the many Hawaii resources available for free on the Library's Web site.
Thrum's Hawaiian Almanac Digitized
The Hawaiʻi almanac now commonly known as "Thrum's" was published annually between 1875 and 1974. In addition to statistical reports on business, population, government, weather and geography, each volume included directories of government, businesses and organizations, and articles and essays on a wide variety of topics.
Ulu‘ulu: The Henry Ku‘ualoha Giugni Moving Image Archive of Hawai‘i
‘Ulu‘ulu: The Henry Ku‘ualoha Giugni Moving Image Archive of Hawai‘i aims to perpetuate and share the rich moving image heritage of Hawai‘i through the preservation of film and videotape related to the history and culture of Native Hawaiians and the people of Hawai‘i.
University of Hawaii Archives & Manuscripts
In order to promote an understanding and appreciation of Hawaii's rich multi-cultural heritage, the Manuscript Collections document the people, history, culture, and politics of Hawaii, and support scholarly research, teaching, and public awareness. The Manuscript Collections include records of international peace organizations focusing on Asia and the Pacific, the Japanese American Veterans Collection, the Hawaii War Records Depository, the Hawaii Congressional Papers Collection, and other modern political papers.
University of Hawaii at Manoa Digital and Digitized Collections
The Digital Archive Collections at the University of Hawai'i at Manoa Library include historical and cultural material in digital form, made accessible via the World Wide Web. Some projects were funded in part or in full by grants. Grant applications, reports and Web statistics related to specific digital imaging projects are available. Many other projects were started and/or completed by the efforts of students working in Library and Information Studies Program Internships. This page lists scanned material from Archives and Manuscript collections, the Asia Collection, art works from the Jean Charlot Collection, resources related to Hawai'i and Pacific culture and history and material from the Rare collection.

Albertsons Library Digital Collections (Boise State)
Photos, documents, maps, and other resources from Special Collections documenting the history, culture, and people of Idaho and the American West. Check back often for new collections.
Amherst College Digital Collections
The print holdings of Archives & Special Collections contain over 80,000 books and 11,000 linear feet of archival materials. The department houses major collections of Emily Dickinson’s books and manuscripts, along with extensive holdings of other poets and writers. The history of Amherst College and the local community is extensively documented through books, manuscripts, photographs, film, and objects. Other strengths of the collections include natural history, especially ornithology; missionary activity; travel literature; theater; international politics and diplomacy; and social justice and activism.Archives & Special Collections within Amherst College Digital Collections holds hundreds of digitized objects selected from the print holdings of the department. All Archives & Special Collections material in ACDC is in the public domain, or else the rights are held by Amherst College, which chooses to make the material freely available to the public.
Bannock County Images
Bannock County Images is a digital repository through which researchers, students, scholars, genealogists, historic interpreters, authors, and members of the general public can access information pertaining to Bannock County, Idaho. This is a collaborative project between Special Collections and Archives, Eli M. Oboler Library, Idaho State University, Pocatello, Idaho; the Bannock County Historical Society, Pocatello, Idaho; and, the South Bannock County Historical Center, Lava Hot Springs, Idaho.
Idaho State Historical Society
Digital collections from the Idaho State Historical Society.
Idaho State Historical Society Photo Gallery
Experience Idaho’s visual history through photograph collections available at the Idaho State Archives. Images date from the Territorial period to present day. The collections offer a variety of subjects, including ethnic, mining, military, railroads, and geographic locations. Noteworthy Idaho photographers are featured, such as Bisbee, Sigler, and Fuller.
Library of Congress Resources for Idaho
The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. The list below is just a sample of the many Idaho resources available for free on the Library's Web site.
Musical Poetry in Idaho
Listen to Ione Love Thielke, the “Musical Poem Recorder,” put Idaho poetry to music on her personal recordings and radio shows from the 1940s and 1950s.
University of Idaho Special Collections
The Digital Initiatives department works to preserve and make accessible collections from the library, the University of Idaho, and the State of Idaho via its digitization, database, and digital archiving services

University of Washington Digital Collections
Special Collections is the Libraries' major resource for rare and archival materials covering a broad range of topics, formats and periods. These digital resources are a good place to start a search as they contain a range of materials, including photographs, books, manuscripts and archives.