LibGuides: Primary Sources on the Web: West Virginia Sources

Marshall University Special Collections

About:

Located in Morrow Library on the 2nd Floor

Department contains:

local and regional manuscript collections (diaries, business records, photographs, etc)
Marshall University archives (yearbooks, Parthenons, president's papers, etc)
Rosanna A. Blake Library of Confederate History
Dr. Charles A. Hoffman Library of the History of the Medical Sciences
and much more

Homepage:

http://www.marshall.edu/special-collections/

Online Database:

http://marshall.pastperfectonline.com/search

Search for materials not listed in the online search database here:

West Virginia Archives & History
The site features primary and secondary source documents, photographs, and databases; lists collections and other materials available in the State Archives; and provides research guides and assistance for genealogists.
West Virginia & Regional History Center
Sometimes called the West Virginia Collection, this unit encompasses our main West Virginia books collection, newspapers, microfilms, oral history, printed ephemera, folk music collection, and Archives and Manuscripts. The Archives and Manuscripts collections include personal, family, and business papers, most of which have a connection to West Virginia or Appalachia.
West Virginia: Library of Congress Resources
The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. The list below is just a sample of the many West Virginia resources available for free on the Library's Web site.